RSS

Review: All the Bright Places

13 Jan

All the Bright Places
By Jennifer Niven

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

The first absolute Must Read of 2015!

All the Bright Places
begins with not one but two suicide attempts. Finch is the school outcast, the black sheep in his family. Violet is still recovering from the death of her sister. After an unexpected run-in with one another at the top of their school’s bell tower, they become friends.

Told through their alternating perspectives, we discover how their wandering around Indiana gives them back a wonder of the world- and life itself.

Finch and Violet truly come alive and you share their ups and downs. You root for their budding relationship- particularly when they quote Virginia Wolf and Dr. Seuss. You’ll hope their happiness can last because this book deals with some serious stuff- aside from suicide, death of a loved one, there’s also (verbal, mental and physical) abuse and depression. I appreciated the resource guide at the end of the book with websites for help and information on these topics.

Fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars and Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park will want to add this YA novel to their collection.

My biggest takeaway from the book is: Find all the bright places and people you can and hold them close.

Advertisements
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Review: All the Bright Places

  1. Andee Zomerman

    January 13, 2015 at 8:42 am

    Oooo – I can’t wait! Going on the list now!

     

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: