RSS

Celebrate This Week- January 16, 2015

16 Jan
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating Mariah Carey!

Mariah Carey is my favorite singer of all time. She just announced on The Ellen DeGeneres Show she’ll be doing a residency at The Colosseum at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas starting May 6th! It’ll be a career retrospective of her record-breaking 18 #1’s!

Naturally, when I found out tickets were on sale, I rearranged my work schedule and started booking flights and bought the ticket! So, I’m Vegas bound for her May 13th show!

Here’s a clip of her announcement on The Ellen DeGeneres Show including a fun surprise for select fans and the entire audience member:

Of her 25 years in the music industry, I’ve been a fan of hers since the Daydream album- 15 years! I remember recording “One Sweet Day” (her duet with Boyz II Men) off the radio to a cassette and writing the lyrics through the process of pressing play-pause-rewind-play.

I remember seeing her in concert for the first time in 2013- coincidentally at the same venue as her current gig! It was one of the best days of my life.

And, it’s never officially Christmas until her holiday hit “All I Want for Christmas is You” plays non-stop.

Aside from her amazing career accomplishments and immense talent, I just admire her as a human being. People are quick to dismiss her or to write her off as a ditzy diva but she keeps coming back and she keeps coming out on top. I can’t say how many times I’ve used her music unwind or to get through a tough time. Her songs have become a soundtrack to my life.

My video pick of the week is “Hero”- one of her signature songs that means a lot to many people,including myself:

What are you celebrating this week?

 

Tags: ,

9 responses to “Celebrate This Week- January 16, 2015

  1. Sandi Purdell-Lewis

    January 16, 2015 at 10:50 pm

    Enjoy your Vegas trip and the concert.

     
  2. Terje

    January 17, 2015 at 3:22 am

    May seems far but the time will go quickly. I am glad you were able to get the tickets and rearrange your schedule.

     
  3. anita

    January 17, 2015 at 4:21 am

    Why not? She must be incredible in concert!

     
  4. Jennifer Laffin

    January 17, 2015 at 5:05 am

    Congratulations on your upcoming trip! So exciting!!

     
  5. aruddteacher100

    January 17, 2015 at 6:22 am

    Have fun on your trip! It’s great when heroes we admire seem so close. It’s also fun to take a walk down memory lane and think about how they’ve been such a piece of our lives. Thanks for celebrating Mariah’s work.

     
  6. Andee Zomerman

    January 17, 2015 at 9:08 am

    I’m so happy you get to go! Can’t wait to hear all about it afterwards.

     
  7. carriegelson

    January 17, 2015 at 10:12 am

    Enjoy! 🙂

     
  8. Linda Baie

    January 17, 2015 at 9:12 pm

    That’s awesome that you managed this trip, Earl. What a wonderful thing to look forward to!

     
  9. Kendra

    January 18, 2015 at 5:53 am

    Vegas! I love this! I must admit, I haven’t really considered her work since college maybe, but I always enjoyed listening to her! I’m sure a live show will be awesome, and here in the Midwest, that would be such a cool thing to look forward to with the January Weather we are having. Enjoy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
