RSS

National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature: Part 1

17 Jan

“The National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature raises national awareness of the importance of young people’s literature as it relates to lifelong literacy, education and the development and betterment of the lives of young people.”
-from the website

National_Ambassador_for_Young_People's_Literature_-_logo

I didn’t know there was even this position until a year or so ago. I think it’s great. I wanted to know more about the authors selected as Ambassadors and their respective platforms so I created a Reading Challenge to read at least one of their books.

First up is Jon Scieszka who was the first Ambassador when the position was created in 2008. His focus was “to get kids excited about reading.” I love that he started the Guys Read initiative- “a web-based literacy program for boys… [to] become self-motivated, lifelong readers.”

I decided to read two of his picture books for this reading challenge and I can say that he’s been super successful in getting kids excited to read!

The True Story of the 3 Little PigsThe True Story of the 3 Little Pigs by Jon Scieszka
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Another fun installment from frequent collaborators Jon Scieszka and Lane Smith this time offering another perspective to the popular tale of the 3 pigs and an allegedly bad wolf.

View all my reviews

The Stinky Cheese Man: And Other Fairly Stupid TalesThe Stinky Cheese Man: And Other Fairly Stupid Tales by Jon Scieszka
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is a must have for every child’s library!

Everything about the book is used to perfection- from endpapers, barcode, table of content.

Beloved fairy tales are given new irreverent nonsensical twists in this laugh out loud collection. Great for grown ups, too!

Absolutely brilliant!

View all my reviews

I also ended up reading another one of his books.
Guys Read: True StoriesGuys Read: True Stories by Jon Scieszka
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In this newest Guys Read collection, Jon Scieszka (founder of the Guys Read web-based literacy program) shares ten non-fiction tales from ten different contributors tackling a variety of topics and in different ways.

I would say this would be good for older readers as well. Some stories got me queasy. And I’ve never heard so many tales about having to drink urine either one’s own for survival or as part of a concoction to help with teeth problems.

I listened to this as an audio book so I had my first experience listening to a short story in grahic novel form. I also missed out on Brian Floca’s illustrations for each of the story.

Other words to describe this anthology: Intense. Gory. Light-hearted. Funny. Informative. Interesting.

View all my reviews

 

Leave a Reply

 
