RSS

What Are You Reading? (130) #IMWAYR – January 18, 2015

18 Jan
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Review: All the Bright Places– Read my review for:

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating Mariah Carey!

National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature: Part 1: Jon Scieszka– Read my reviews for:


Disturbingly delightful! These aren’t definitely for the squeamish of readers. I’d been meaning to read the first book for awhile now but I guess seeing a sequel made me want to read it more. Super cute stories!

Lottie Paris Lives Here by Angela Johnson, Illustrated byScott M. Fischer [***]

Lottie Paris Lives Here by Angela Johnson, Illustrated by Scott M. Fischer [***]


A young African-American girl who loves nothing more than to daydream and spend her day with her dad.
[We Need Diverse Books]

Timmy Failure: We Meet AgainTimmy Failure: We Meet Again by Stephan Pastis
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Timmy Failure continues to amuse in this third installment. It seems we’re digging a little deeper into the boy detective’s psyche which I appreciate. Plus, unexpected developments make it fresh and I can’t wait for the next one!

View all my reviews

The Terrible TwoThe Terrible Two by Jory John
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Pranks. Cows. More pranks. More cows.

The first in a new series, The Terrible Two is guaranteed to make even the most reluctant readers chuckle and keep on turning the pages to see how the prank war escalates and perhaps just to learn more facts about cows they never thought they wanted to know.

View all my reviews

Just a Drop of WaterJust a Drop of Water by Kerry O’Malley Cerra
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Writing about 9/11 is a tricky thing because it’s still so fresh and each of us has a personal recollection of it. Just a Drop of Water looks at the immediate effects of a shared national tragedy in the life of Jake Green. In a blink of an eye, his world is changed and his beliefs tested.

View all my reviews

Beast Keeper (Beasts of Olympus, #1)Beast Keeper by Lucy Coats
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Readers who may be too young for the Percy Jackson series can get their mythology fix with this early chapter book series. Half-god, half-human Pandemonium (aka Demon) ends up being the beast keeper for the gods. As if tending mythical creatures wasn’t tough enough, he has to make sure he doesn’t offend the rather moody gods and goddesses.

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

Precious and the Mystery of the Missing LionPrecious and the Mystery of the Missing Lion by Alexander McCall Smith
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Young Precious Ramotswe is back in a new adventure. Usually set in her hometown of Botswana, she gets to spend some time with her Aunt who runs a safari camp. There, exciting things are happening as a movie is being filmed featuring a lion actor. It’s up to Precious to help when the animal star suddenly goes missing.

Charming text. Unique illustrations. Not too scary situations but plenty of small excitements. My only complaint is that everything ties up too nicely.

View all my reviews
[We Need Diverse Books]

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Expect reviews for these books during Wednesday’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:

I am reading some books on my TBR list!

Have a great reading week!

 

12 responses to “What Are You Reading? (130) #IMWAYR – January 18, 2015

  1. Michele

    January 19, 2015 at 6:28 am

    I think Stinky Cheese Man was one of the first books I bought for my classroom library! It started my love for Children’s Literature as an adult!
    Reading All the Bright Places now.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    January 19, 2015 at 6:46 am

    I’ve enjoyed the Alexander McCall Smith adult books in the past, didn’t know there were picture books about these characters. Thanks for that review, Earl. Will look for them!

     
  3. Stacey H. (@libraryjo92)

    January 19, 2015 at 7:36 am

    I just read I am Jackie Robinson too. Loved it. I can’t wait to read Zombie in Love 2. I enjoyed the first one so much. Thanks for sharing!

     
  4. Ricki Ginsberg

    January 19, 2015 at 7:53 am

    I am glad you were able to tackle your #mustreadin2015 list and get to All the Bright Places. I agree with you that the characters in the book truly came alive. 🙂 I am glad you enjoyed it as much as I did!

     
  5. Cheriee Weichel

    January 19, 2015 at 8:17 am

    I have All the Bright Places on my to read list, but after reading your review of, I had to go put it on hold at the library. I love the Precious Ramotswe series, but find my readers are not really fans.

     
  6. thelogonauts

    January 19, 2015 at 12:00 pm

    Oh how I love Jon Scieszka books! I am also really looking forward to The Terrible Two, thanks! Sounds right up my third graders’ alleys.

     
  7. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    January 19, 2015 at 5:27 pm

    I cannot wait to read All the Bright Places. I know if EVERYONE is raving about it, it is a must read.
    Looking forward to also reading The Terrible Twos and love that you are highlighting Jon Sciezska. He is such a great man and author.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  8. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    January 19, 2015 at 5:58 pm

    I’ve been hearing so many good things about All the Bright Places. I definitely need to read it this year!

     
  9. The Styling Librarian

    January 20, 2015 at 5:56 am

    Reading machine! 🙂

     
  10. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    January 20, 2015 at 4:27 pm

    All the Bright Places may be my Pop Sugar challenge book for “crying books”. That is on my list for sure!

     
  11. Myra GB

    January 21, 2015 at 11:03 pm

    Jon Scieszka shared your post on Facebook (the National Ambassador post). He is one of my kidlit heroes and the reason why I fell in love with children’s literature. I look forward to reading All the Bright Places too. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
