RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #55

21 Jan

nfpb2015

Can We Save the Tiger?Can We Save the Tiger? by Martin Jenkins
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A beautiful and important book that features extinct and endangered animals and insects. I appreciated that it stated right in the beginning that there are no simple solutions to this problem. One can’t help but be moved to act- through direct involvement with organizations listed in the back or by changing some of our behaviors.

View all my reviews

Earmuffs for Everyone!: How Chester Greenwood Became Known as the Inventor of EarmuffsEarmuffs for Everyone!: How Chester Greenwood Became Known as the Inventor of Earmuffs by Meghan Mccarthy
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A fascinating look into inventions and patents.

Good nonfiction picture books are made even better when extensive research is done and verified. I like how credit was given to the first inventors of the earmuffs and talked about how Chester Greenwood became known as the primary inventor.

View all my reviews

I am Albert EinsteinI am Albert Einstein by Brad Meltzer
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Ordinary People Change the World is a biographical picture book series from Brad Meltzer, best known as a bestselling author of adult thrillers. Positive and inspiring for preschoolers. Christopher Eliopoulos’ cute illustrations just add another layer of appeal!

Introducing young readers to these ordinary people who fought against stereotypes and/or injustice, the books have tackled various well-known people and their causes including Amelia Earhart’s determination to achieve her dream of being able to fly, Abraham Lincoln’s belief in equality for all, and Rosa Parks’s refusal to let others mistreat her and others just because of the color of her skin.

In this title, Einstein’s never ending curiosity as a child was a driving force in making him the hero he is today. I loved the humor of his awesome hair!

View all my reviews

Click here to read my review of:

Guys Read: True Stories Edited by Jon Scziescka

Guys Read: True Stories Edited by Jon Scziescka

Click here to read my reviews of:


[We Need Diverse Books]

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #55

  1. alybee930

    January 21, 2015 at 9:01 pm

    I can’t believe that I didn’t think to post anything on MLK. Fail on my part. Thanks for sharing all of these.

     
  2. Myra GB

    January 22, 2015 at 1:44 am

    Can We Save The Tiger looks gorgeous. 🙂

     
  3. Rachel Ann

    January 25, 2015 at 8:07 pm

    Hi Earl! I met you this last summer with my sister Debbie Alvarez. I love reading your weekly blogs! Have you read: Martin & Mahalia: His Words, Her Song: Andrea Davis. I loved this book. My students did two years in a row too. Happy reading!

     

Leave a Reply

 
