RSS

Celebrate This Week- January 23, 2015

23 Jan
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating Richard Blanco’s For All of Us, One Today.

For All of Us, One Today by Richard Blanco

For All of Us, One Today by Richard Blanco

I watched him read “One Today” during President Obama’s second inauguration and was immediately moved by his words. I had been wanting to read this book since it came out so I finally just bought it as part of my 2015 resolution to visit at least one independent bookstore each month and make a purchase.

And, I’m so glad I did because this has joined 45 other titles as one of my favorite books of all time!

Richard Blanco’s For All of Us, One Today manages to be timely and timeless, personal and for everyone. It is a memoir and a poetry primer- a behind the scenes look at the poet and the craft. It is a love letter to America and its people. It is also a beautiful reminder of how words can transform and bring people together.

I want to give this book to everyone I know. I want to have it with me whenever I write to be inspired and to learn from it.

This week’s video is of him reading the inauguration poem.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

7 responses to “Celebrate This Week- January 23, 2015

  1. Andrea Payan (@payanar)

    January 24, 2015 at 9:17 am

    Thank you for sharing this book with us. I will definitely be one the lookout for this one. Have a great week!

     
  2. Holly Mueller

    January 24, 2015 at 12:09 pm

    Oh wow – thanks for sharing this title!

     
  3. jarhartz

    January 24, 2015 at 12:50 pm

    Beautiful Earl. I feel like this should the centerpiece of a study for every school child, every citizen.

     
  4. anita

    January 24, 2015 at 2:57 pm

    This sounds like a book I need to order – now.

     
  5. Linda Baie

    January 24, 2015 at 4:40 pm

    Wow, Earl, you’ve convinced me about this book. On my list!

     
  6. thelogonauts

    January 26, 2015 at 11:35 am

    How cool! We had a poetry memorizing challenge after the inaugural, so I paired up with a student to memorize and recite One Day. Really excited to check this out!

     
  7. vgpratt

    April 2, 2015 at 7:26 pm

    I remember listening to the poem during the inauguration and being very moved; glad to know about the book! Adding it! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
