RSS

What Are You Reading? (131) #IMWAYR – January 25, 2015

25 Jan
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

I didn’t know who Miranda July was but felt compelled to go to her reading at Powell’s for her debut novel, The First Bad Man. I’m so glad I went because she was witty, insightful and very genuine.

This week, I posted:

Celebrating Martin Luther King, Jr. Day– Read my reviews for:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating Richard Blanco’s For All of Us, One Today. Read my review of my latest favorite book.

For All of Us, One Today by Richard Blanco

For All of Us, One Today by Richard Blanco

Blown Away by Rob Biddulph [***]

Blown Away by Rob Biddulph [***]


A kite takes a penguin on an unexpected journey far from home bringing with them some surprise visitors. Fun illustrations.

 The Astonishing Secret of Awesome Man by Michael Chabon, Illustrated by Jake Parker [***]

The Astonishing Secret of Awesome Man by Michael Chabon, Illustrated by Jake Parker [***]


I love the surprise reveal of Awesome Man’s secret identity. Michael Chabon offers a unique take on the superhero story.

Mr. Tweed's Good Deeds by Jim Stoten [***]

Mr. Tweed’s Good Deeds by Jim Stoten [***]


Part counting book and part find-it book, readers will also take away how acts of kindness can lead to all sorts of good things.

Snoozefest by Samantha Berger [**]

Snoozefest by Samantha Berger [**]


Cute story. Cute illustrations.

Life Is Like the Wind by Shona Innes, Illustrated by Írisz Agócs [***]

Life Is Like the Wind by Shona Innes, Illustrated by Írisz Agócs [***]


Young readers are introduced to the concept of death by comparing to wind. The breezy text with the warm and inviting illustrations encourage discussions. I appreciate that this picture book didn’t focus on one particular belief.

Letters to Anyone and EveryoneLetters to Anyone and Everyone by Toon Tellegen
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I like recommending Toon Tellegen’s books to fans of Winnie-the-Pooh and The Wind in the Willows. Charming stories featuring animals with a sensibility that only children’s books tend to have. I love how the nonsensical don’t need to be explained. They can just be taken as they are and appreciated that way!

View all my reviews

Jasper John Dooley: Star of the WeekJasper John Dooley: Star of the Week by Caroline Adderson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A sweet story about a boy who’s excited to be the Star of the Week at School. He can’t wait to show off his lint collection! But things don’t go exactly as planned. A sleep-deprived best friend and a make-believe sibling are just some things to expect in this funny early chapter book that’s wholesome but still interesting.

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

Lowriders in Space (Book 1)Lowriders in Space by Cathy Camper
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Rev your engines for this out of this world trippy adventure about three friends who enter a car contest. A diverse cast of characters, a rare look into Mexican American car culture, and Spanish words incorporated into the text make for a unique reading experience.

View all my reviews
[We Need Diverse Books]

Expect reviews for these books during Wednesday’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading
-Twelve Steps to a Compassionate Life by Karen Armstrong
-The Young World by Chris Weitz
-The Eye of Zoltar by Jasper Fforde
-The Case of the Missing Moonstone by Jordan Stratford

I need to start Flora & Ulysses by Kate DiCamillo for our Family Book Club at work.

Have a great reading week!

 

9 responses to “What Are You Reading? (131) #IMWAYR – January 25, 2015

  1. The Styling Librarian

    January 26, 2015 at 4:23 am

    Enjoy Flora and Ulysses! Life Is Like the Wind sounds intriguing… Happy reading to you.

     
  2. Cheriee Weichel

    January 26, 2015 at 7:02 am

    So many awesome books. I think I will have to get a copy of The Astonishing Secret of Awesome Man for our library.

     
  3. thelogonauts

    January 26, 2015 at 11:35 am

    Great list! Just found out I won a copy of Emmanuel’s Dream, so I will be checking my mailbox constantly!

     
  4. Tammy and Clare

    January 26, 2015 at 1:47 pm

    We can’t wait to read Awesome Man – Looks like a book that won’t stay on the library shelves for very long

     
  5. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    January 26, 2015 at 6:06 pm

    Isn’t Can You Save The Tiger? beautiful! Great review Earl.
    I LOVE Michael Chabon!!! Have you read Summerland?! Thank you for sharing this one; I didn’t know about it.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  6. vgpratt

    January 26, 2015 at 6:12 pm

    I used Love Will See You Through with my kids this year for MLK day. I love having some new choices related to Dr. King to use with elementary kids. I still love Martin’s Big Words, but I have my kids for at least two years in a row, so I needed something different to use with them this year. Great list!

     
  7. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    January 26, 2015 at 7:01 pm

    I just got Snoozefest this week but haven’t read it yet. Looking forward to that one.

     
  8. Ricki Ginsberg

    January 26, 2015 at 7:12 pm

    You were very busy this week. I love the MLK Jr. books. I haven’t read either, and in fact, I have never read a picture book about him. This must be fixed! Thanks for the new titles this week, Earl!

     
  9. Myra GB

    January 29, 2015 at 1:34 am

    Hi there Earl! I actually borrowed the Mr. tweeds’ book several weeks back from the library but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. The Richard Blanco novel looks appealing indeed. 🙂 I didn’t know Chabon wrote a middle grade novel, that’s bound to be interesting. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
