RSS

What Are You Reading? (132) #IMWAYR – February 1, 2015

01 Feb
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature: Part 2: Kate DiCamillo– Read my review for:

Flora & Ulysses by Kate DiCamillo

Flora & Ulysses by Kate DiCamillo

Reading Resolutions: January Update

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating poetry- inaugural poetry, specifically.

I updated My Most Favorite Favorites to include all 47 titles.

I read Raina Telgemeier’s two-issue “Outreach” about zines- from the process of making one to promoting it.
outreach

Fetch by Jorey Hurley [**]

Fetch by Jorey Hurley [**]


A simple story similar to Nest. I appreciated the author’s note providing additional information on the background illustrations.

Virgil & Owen by Paulette Bogan [***]

Virgil & Owen by Paulette Bogan [***]


A fun story about a friendship that didn’t start out so amicable. Cute!

 A Violin for Elva by Mary Lyn Ray, Illustrated by Tricia Tusa [***]

A Violin for Elva by Mary Lyn Ray, Illustrated by Tricia Tusa [***]


This picture book reminded me of The Library by Sarah Stewart. A beautiful story about not giving up on your dreams following the life of a girl into womanhood and the music that changed her world.

Animal Masquerade by Marianne Dubuc, Translated by Yvette Ghione [***]

Animal Masquerade by Marianne Dubuc, Translated by Yvette Ghione [***]


Playful and imaginative. Animals dress up in clever costumes that are sure to delight readers. I enjoyed how even the text was manipulated to join in on the fun. Clever!

The Young World (The Young World, #1)The Young World by Chris Weitz
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

All the adults and children have died leaving teenagers to fend for themselves and create a new world. Alternating between the two male and female protagonists, we follow their adventures to find a possible cure. It is practically one action-filled scene after the other with the occasional teenage romance nonsense. It kind of falls apart when the how’s and why’s are answered. I can’t see myself investing more time with this series but I did like it enough to finish the first book which counts for something!

View all my reviews

The Case of the Missing MoonstoneThe Case of the Missing Moonstone by Jordan Stratford
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

There are a lot of things going right for this book.

Fans of mystery, especially the likes of The Mysterious Benedict Society, will enjoy this. Ada’s character reminds me of Constance.

Fans of historical fiction will get a kick out of this book. There’s even some background information on the time, people and places mentioned.

Fans of strong, smart, and adventurous girls working together will find Mary and Ada’s stories fascinating.

Apparently, this is just the first of four books, originally funded through Kickstarter, so there are more mysteries to come!

View all my reviews

Falling into PlaceFalling into Place by Amy Zhang
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

It seems most YA novels are either dystopian or about suicide/illness/death which makes me not want to read any. Falling into Place is about suicide, although no one will know besides the main character. Others will think it was an accident.

Focusing on different people and different moments in time, each chapter is like a puzzle piece that by the end you hope will all fall into place and form a complete picture.

I’m not quite sure it succeeded in doing that. I mean, I was hooked. Not because I sympathized with the characters (I didn’t) but because I wanted to like them.

It’ll be interesting to hear what other people think about this.

View all my reviews

Expect a review for this book during Wednesday’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:

A Fine Dessert: Four Centuries, Four Families, One Delicious Treat by Emily Jenkins, Illustrated by Sophie Blackall

A Fine Dessert: Four Centuries, Four Families, One Delicious Treat by Emily Jenkins, Illustrated by Sophie Blackall

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “What Are You Reading? (132) #IMWAYR – February 1, 2015

  1. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    February 2, 2015 at 4:10 am

    Lots of great books again this week, Earl! I adored Flora and Ulysses. I read it before it won, and I was so excited when it got the award last year.

    The Case of the Missing Moonstone sounds like something my kids will love. They adore Mysterious Benedict Society (and so do I!)

     
  2. Cheriee Weichel

    February 2, 2015 at 7:02 am

    I’m now interested in The Case of the Missing Moonstone. I love mysteries anyway, and with two strong girls, I’m sure this one will be a winner.

     
  3. Joanne Toft

    February 2, 2015 at 5:34 pm

    I reviewed the The Case of the Missing Moonstone this week as well. Funny! Not the greatest book in the world but a quick fun read that I think some kids would enjoy. I was looking for the Mary Shelley connection since I am also reading Frankenstein right now as well. Thanks for the reviews.

     
  4. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    February 2, 2015 at 6:18 pm

    Glad you liked Emmanuel! I think it is such an inspiring book.
    Love your Kate Dicamillo post. I loved Flora and much of what she wrote.

    Happy reading this week! And happy ALA Awards Day! 🙂

     
  5. Ricki Ginsberg

    February 2, 2015 at 6:21 pm

    Animal Masquerade looks very cute. I am a sucker for all animal picture books, so I need to get it. I love how you celebrate different themes on your Mondays. It makes me happy.

     
  6. Myra GB

    February 3, 2015 at 4:11 am

    I just borrowed Animal Masquerade from the library and can’t wait to read it now. How do you get so much reading done! I know what you mean about most YA fiction – although I don’t really mind reading about cancer/death/suicide. 🙂

     
  7. The Styling Librarian

    February 3, 2015 at 10:55 pm

    So many great books this week! Looking forward to reading The Case of the Missing Moonstone this summer… Happy reading to you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
