RSS

Celebrate This Week- February 6, 2015

06 Feb
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating what a great reading year I’ve already been having!

I’ve already read 14 books from my TBR list!

I’ve already added 3 titles to My Most Favorite Favorites!

Here’s my latest favorite:
Far Far AwayFar Far Away by Tom McNeal
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Once upon a time there was a boy who had a ghost for a best friend- and not just any ghost but that of Jacob Grimm. And, so begins a dark modern fairy tale.

Jeremy Johnson Johnson is a very genuine character. A teenage boy who hears the voices of the dead and has a strong sense of what’s right and wrong. His predictable life veers of in unexpected directions once he starts hanging out with Ginger, a spit-fire of a girl but good-natured at heart. Having Jacob Grimm narrate this tale was a great choice.

One might argue that it took rather long to get to the core of the story- this whole business of a malevolent entity known as the Finder of Occasions. But the characters were too likable for me to care. I loved getting to know them better and all the fairy tale references thrown in. And each incident was like a breadcrumb, a clue, leading to the big reveal. Some might even say it’s heavy on foreshadowing but, for me, it just created a great sense of anticipation.

The Finder of Keeper is truly one of the most sinister characters I’ve ever encountered. This was a great story all around!

View all my reviews

And, I know there will be more books I’m just going to fall in love with! As they say, “so many books, so little time!”

And, of course, this past Monday was the excitement of the Youth Media Awards. It’s a nice tradition to wake up early and watch the live telecast. I cheer for the people who win and for all readers who will enjoy the books (or already have!) I know my reading list has grown considerably since then!

My Video Pick of the Week is YMA-related: Behind the Scenes at 2015 YMAs:

What are you celebrating this week?

 

One response to “Celebrate This Week- February 6, 2015

  1. Linda Baie

    February 7, 2015 at 5:16 pm

    I loved Far, Far Away, too Earl. I’ve having a hard time getting kids to give it a try, but maybe someday. I saw the YMA awards-so exciting. Have a great week next week, too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
