RSS

Celebrate This Week- February 13, 2015

13 Feb
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating happy days.

They seem to be much harder to come by and more difficult to maintain these days- at least, for me- and, so, I can’t help but celebrate when I have them.

It’s always fun to hang out with friends, very energizing. And, we can usually talk about anything- and the conversations are usually over good food and drinks.

My roommate and I decided to watch this year’s Oscar-nominated live-action shorts. The stand-out for me was the British film “Boogaloo and Graham” about two brothers who were given baby chicks by their father. In a short run time, they managed to tell a captivating and hilarious story about family. I highly recommend it.

We also checked out Portland’s arcade and bar- Ground Kontrol. Playing the video games and pinball machines definitely brought out the nostalgia!

This past Thursday, I went to a volunteer reception for Wordstock, Portland’s annual book festival, held at Literary Arts, which recently acquired the event. Having been a volunteer and having had both my work and the non-profit I’m a board member of as exhibitors, I wanted to see in what direction they were bringing it into. This year’s a whole new kind of monster they’re dealing with but I feel like it’s in great hands. I’m in great support of what they do.

The space was awesome and beautiful. I wanted to read all the books there. And it reminded me how Portland is such a city of readers, writers, and volunteers. I talked with some passionate people who I assume I will run into during other related events!

One way I decided to combat my sadness was to send out cards and it worked. Sending out good thoughts and well wishes brings you out of your funk and into a good state of mind.

Another tip: Surround yourself with family and friends- people who love, like, support, encourage, and hold you accountable. Know that you are not alone.

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is A.A. Milne reading from Winnie-the-Pooh, courtesy of Brain Pickings:

What are you celebrating this week?

 

8 responses to “Celebrate This Week- February 13, 2015

  1. Terje

    February 14, 2015 at 1:41 am

    I am glad you have found the happy moments in the time of sadness in your life. Your advice to surround oneself with family and friends is a key advice for anyone who goes through tough times.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    February 14, 2015 at 5:31 am

    Earl, your Winnie-the-Pooh story made me happy this morning. Thank you! I’ve always loved every bit of the stories. I hope you continue to find the “happy” in your daily life. It is a gift to be able to see the little joys.

     
  3. Michelle Haseltine

    February 14, 2015 at 6:49 am

    Spending time around the best people in life…makes life worth living! Thank you for that reminder!! Keep looking for the “happy”!!

     
  4. carriegelson

    February 14, 2015 at 7:05 am

    It sounds like you live in the ideal city for you! This is a lovely post all around Earl. Best to you!

     
  5. Marcie

    February 14, 2015 at 7:23 am

    Writing cards is so powerful. Thank you for that great reminder! Here’s hoping you have a lot more happy headed your way!

     
  6. Crystal

    February 14, 2015 at 9:55 am

    Sending out messages to others definitely cheers me up and brings me positive thoughts. I’m glad you found that to be true this week. 🙂

     
  7. jarhartz

    February 14, 2015 at 12:02 pm

    Finding connections with valued family and friends (including books and authors) can keep you afloat. Glad you reached out! Thanks for sharing AA Milne with us.

     
  8. aruddteacher100

    February 14, 2015 at 4:43 pm

    Earl, your happiness this week is a great celebration! It really came through in what you’ve shared today. I enjoyed hearing about AAMilne. I just read the book Winnie-learning about the bear who inspired the Winnie the Pooh character.

     

Leave a Reply

 
