RSS

What Are You Reading? (134) #IMWAYR – February 15, 2015

15 Feb
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

New Releases– Read my reviews for:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:


Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating happy days.

Book Fiesta!: Celebrate Children's Day/Book Day by Pat Mora, Illustrated by Rafael López

Book Fiesta!: Celebrate Children’s Day/Book Day by Pat Mora, Illustrated by Rafael López


[***] This bilingual book makes a celebration of books. A nice book to have if celebrating (or planning to celebrate) Children’s Day/Book Day. Includes tips.
[We Need Diverse Books]

The Bear Ate Your Sandwich by Julia Sarcone-Roach

The Bear Ate Your Sandwich by Julia Sarcone-Roach


[***] A cute book which explains the disappearance of a certain sandwich. The surprising reveal will make readers laugh.

The Escape of the Deadly Dinosaur: USA (Secret Agent Jack Stalwart, #1)The Escape of the Deadly Dinosaur: USA by Elizabeth Singer Hunt
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This has been a breakout hit at our store. A grandmother and her grandson highly recommended it to me.

This is a great choice for reluctant readers. It has adventure and a good mix of text and illustrations. I love telling the parents that there are educational factors as well since each book takes place in a different country. In the beginning of each book, there are mission files- information about the countries and the spy gadgets being used. Also fun is when you flip the pages, there’s a running Jack Stalwart on the bottom right corner!

I can’t wait to read more of this series!

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

The Honest TruthThe Honest Truth by Dan Gemeinhart
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This will definitely be a book people will be talking about this year.

It’s an adventure story between a boy and his dog.

It’s a friendship story between the boy and a girl and deciding how far one should keep a secret.

It’s a story about a boy with cancer who runs away from home and decides to climb Mount Rainier. While death casts its shadow over the entire narrative, this is ultimately a life-affirming story.

Maybe if I were an animal lover, I would have had a stronger emotional connection. I did appreciate the use of haikus throughout.

View all my reviews

The Financial Lives of the PoetsThe Financial Lives of the Poets by Jess Walter
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I had been meaning to read The Financial Lives of the Poets ever since I’d seen Jess Walter read from it a few years ago. In fact, even back then, I wanted to listen to the audio book since he’d be narrating it.

I just love the plot: A middle-aged man starts a poetry financial website after losing his job and ends up hanging out with trouble-making teenaged drug users. Walter’s writing style reminds me of Sherman Alexie’s- deftly mixing the drama and the humor.

Aside from not like the main character all that much because of his poor choices, I guess I could see how he’d find himself in the predicaments he’s created for himself.

A solidly entertaining read.

View all my reviews

The Handsome Man's Deluxe Café (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, #15)The Handsome Man’s Deluxe Café by Alexander McCall Smith
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

As I always say with the books in this series, reading them is like meeting friends over tea. It’s a guaranteed cozy time.

I’ve got to say though, everything’s been wrapping up a little bit too nicely and they are being too lenient on Charlie.

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Have a great reading week!

 

4 responses to “What Are You Reading? (134) #IMWAYR – February 15, 2015

  1. Linda Baie

    February 16, 2015 at 6:17 am

    The Financial Lives of Poets sounds good. I’ve never heard of it, so will note it, Earl. Lots of reading again this week. Thanks for the variety!

     
  2. cheriee weichel

    February 16, 2015 at 6:58 am

    The Jack Stalwart series are VERY popular (along with Zac Powers) in our library. I mean to read at least one of each one of these days. Your comparison to Sherman Alexie (one of my all time favourite writers) makes me intrigued to read The Financial Lives of the Poets.

     
  3. The Styling Librarian

    February 17, 2015 at 7:00 am

    Not sure if I’m up for The Honest Truth anytime soon… Woot to Jack Stalwart popularity, quite popular in my library… 🙂

     
  4. Myra GB

    February 18, 2015 at 8:53 pm

    I have a few Alexander McCall Smith in my personal library but haven’t had a chance to read them yet – this title you’re sharing though I’m not familiar with. Do they go in order or can you read them independently? The Honest Truth sounds heartbreaking. I like how you described The Financial Lives of Poets as being similar in vein to Sherman Alexie – will definitely check it out.

     

Leave a Reply

 
