RSS

Celebrate This Week- February 20, 2015

20 Feb
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating teachers.

I just finished reading Lynda Mullaly Hunt’s Fish in a Tree.

Fish In A TreeFish In A Tree by Lynda Mullaly Hunt
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Ally has spent her entire school years with a secret- she can’t read. She’s found rather creative ways to avoid doing assignments or reading out loud in class. But things are getting more difficult with increased taunting from her classmates.

It’s going to take a new teacher to see that she needs help. Fortunately, this comes in the form of Mr. Daniels who realizes that Ally has dyslexia. It gives her hope that she isn’t stupid as she’s been starting to believe.

I love Mr. Daniels’ interactions with all the students. He really took the time (and went out of his way) to accommodate their individual personalities. Not to say the other teachers were bad for not noticing what was going on but sometimes it takes new eyes to provide new insights.

View all my reviews

It got me to thinking about the teachers I’ve had. While I can’t remember all their names, they’ve definitely made an impact in my life.

-Elementary school- 3rd grade: We had to recite a poem in front of the class. Not only was I shy but English wasn’t my first language so I definitely did not want to do it. But Mrs. Gonzales managed to be both understanding and encouraging at the same time. It was an Emily Dickinson poem- maybe about snow- and it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.

-Elementary school- 5th grade: Mr. Revicky was one of my first teachers who joked around with us students and seemed like a friend but was still a teacher. He didn’t mind if he made a mistake- and welcomed corrections.

-Middle school- 7th grade: Ms. Hernandez was the first person who made me believe I could be a writer. It is an exhilarating feeling to have someone think you’re special. Plus, she introduced me to Anne Shirley of Green Gables!

My Video Pick of the Week is a teacher getting down with his students!

What or who are you celebrating this week?

 

5 responses to “Celebrate This Week- February 20, 2015

  1. Terje

    February 21, 2015 at 3:45 am

    I read “Fish in the Tree” and it reminded me of Patricia Polacco’s “Thank you, Mr. Falker.” I wish for more teachers like Mr. Daniels and Mr. Falker in every school.

     
  2. Kendra Limback

    February 21, 2015 at 5:19 am

    I’ve added Fish in a Tree to my Must Read list. My favorite part of a blogging community? My must read list keeps changing. 🙂 I’m glad to read your review. I have some friends who I think would love to read this book too. I too wish for teachers that are memorable in every school. Thanks for sharing.

     
  3. Andrea Payan (@payanar)

    February 21, 2015 at 6:07 am

    What a nice celebration this week. I love seeing your video picks each week also. What a fun idea!

     
  4. Linda Baie

    February 21, 2015 at 6:21 am

    It is a wonderful book, and extra wonderful that it caused you to celebrate your own teacher memories. Love it all, Earl!

     
  5. Crystal

    February 21, 2015 at 11:59 am

    I like that you celebrated and honored some of your teachers. It makes me think back to some of those teachers that touched my life too. Lynda Mullaly Hunt is a great author who manages to get right into our hearts.

     

Leave a Reply

 
