RSS

What Are You Reading? (135) #IMWAYR – February 22, 2015

22 Feb
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

-Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday- Read my reviews for:

Heart and Soul: The Story of America and African Americans by Kadir Nelson

Heart and Soul: The Story of America and African Americans by Kadir Nelson

-Celebrate This Week- This week, I’m celebrating teachers. Read my review for:

Fish In A Tree by Lynda Mullaly Hunt

Fish In A Tree by Lynda Mullaly Hunt

The Fire Cat by Esther Averill

The Fire Cat by Esther Averill


I got a kick seeing Pickles the fire cat as a friend of Jenny’s so I ended up reading this picture book in addition to Jenny and the Cat Club. Also divided into shorter stories but for the “I Can Read” audience, it’s amusing to see the animals interacting with their human friends- they don’t talk to one another in the same language but understand what the other is saying regardless.

A Surprise for Giraffe and Elephant by Paul Gude

A Surprise for Giraffe and Elephant by Paul Gude


Fans of Mo Willems’ Elephant and Piggie looking for longer tales will delight in the antics of these two friends who despite their differences are there for one another.

 Wolfie the Bunny by Ame Dyckman, Illustrated by Zachariah OHara

Wolfie the Bunny by Ame Dyckman, Illustrated by Zachariah OHara


A hilarious book about siblings! A wolf cub is adopted into a bunny family. While Dot’s parents find him oh-so-adorable, she’s sure he’s going to eat them all once he gets bigger!

I Am the Wolf...and Here I Come! by Bénédicte Guettier

I Am the Wolf…and Here I Come! by Bénédicte Guettier


This board book is rather dark but super funny. A wolf gets himself ready to eat the reader!

Mr. Squirrel & the Moon by Sebastian Meschenmoser

Mr. Squirrel & the Moon by Sebastian Meschenmoser


A cheese wheel is mistaken for the moon in this hilarious tale about a squirrel and his friends trying to get it back up where it belongs. The illustrations are superb!

Yeti and the Bird by Nadia Shireen

Yeti and the Bird by Nadia Shireen


A cute story about an unlikely friendship. I’m glad it wasn’t another one of those books where a creature befriends a bird only to mysteriously lose him or her during wintertime and then is surprised when it comes back in the spring.

Jenny and the Cat Club: A Collection of Favorite Stories about Jenny LinskyJenny and the Cat Club: A Collection of Favorite Stories about Jenny Linsky by Esther Averill
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was a book I’d only heard about since working at the bookstore. It’s been super popular which is surprising considering it is a much older title. This collection of stories features mild-mannered feline Jenny Linsky and her friends. Perfect for young readers and read-alouds.

View all my reviews

MastermindsMasterminds by Gordon Korman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

There’s something screwy in Serenity, New Mexico.

Everything should be perfect. In fact, it is. There’s no crime, no poverty, nothing bad to speak of at all in this small town.

But five kids will learn a devastating secret that will change their lives forever in this fast-paced, exhilarating first book in a new trilogy.

Offering various points of views, the picture is completed piece by piece. Boys and girls will find something to enjoy in this adventure story.

It’ll be criminal to miss out on such an exciting read!

(Aside from some questionable vocal choices, the audio book was very good.)

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

The Cats of Tanglewood Forest by Charles de Lint, Illustrated by Charles Vess

The Cats of Tanglewood Forest by Charles de Lint, Illustrated by Charles Vess


Expect reviews for this book later this week.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “What Are You Reading? (135) #IMWAYR – February 22, 2015

  1. Linda Baie

    February 23, 2015 at 5:13 am

    I like hearing all about the little picture books like Wolfie The Bunny, Earl. They all look worth reading. Thanks, & have a good week!

     
  2. Cheriee Weichel

    February 23, 2015 at 7:00 am

    I’m going to try and get A Surprise for Giraffe and Elephant. We need something like this to get our readers who love Elephant and Piggie, to push themselves a bit. I need to get hold of Masterminds as Gordon Kormon is always a hit at our library. Ungifted, is still being read and talked about in our book club.

     
  3. Hannahlily Angus (@FullMetalWhimsy)

    February 23, 2015 at 7:47 am

    Korman is hugely popular at my library too. I need to check and make sure we have at least ordered Masterminds. These picture books look super fun. Definitely going to look into reading them!

     
  4. Karen Yingling

    February 23, 2015 at 8:35 am

    I adored Masterminds! Such fun! But can I be the school librarian in Serenity… fewer overdue books, I imagine!

     
  5. Myra GB

    February 23, 2015 at 3:03 pm

    I read Esther Averill’s Jenny and the Cat books for an NYRB reading challenge. I quite enjoyed it. Hmmm… Masterminds… I am not a plot-driven kind of reader, so I sometimes hesitate reading adventure stories such as these – but I’d most likely check it out, thanks to your recommendation.

     
  6. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    February 23, 2015 at 5:14 pm

    Love love love Heart and Soul.

    I’m really looking forward to reading Fish in a Tree.

     
  7. Kendra Limback

    February 23, 2015 at 6:48 pm

    My son just finished Masterminds as well. He Loved it, and immediately asked when the next one was coming out. I’ll have to add it to my pile now that he’s done. 🙂

     
  8. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    February 24, 2015 at 3:55 am

    I have GOT to read Wolfie the Bunny! I’ll have to look for Masterminds – it looks like something my students would really enjoy.

    I finally made the time to read my copy of Fish in a Tree this past week and definitely enjoyed it. As a former special education teacher, I wish we had more answers and better help for students who struggle with dyslexia.

     

Leave a Reply

 
