RSS

What Are You Reading? (136) #IMWAYR – March 1, 2015

01 Mar
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my review for:

 Little Melba and Her Big Trombone by Katheryn Russell-Brown, Illustrated by Frank Morrison

Little Melba and Her Big Trombone by Katheryn Russell-Brown, Illustrated by Frank Morrison

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating bookish moments in my life. Read my reviews for:

Reading Resolutions: February Update

I’m holding a Book Drive through this site if anyone is interested. Click here for more information.

Home by Carson Ellis

Home by Carson Ellis


[***] Beautiful illustrations of what a home is and means to everyone. I enjoyed the touch of whimsy in this picture book.

Otto the Owl Who Loved Poetry by Vern Kousky

Otto the Owl Who Loved Poetry by Vern Kousky


[***] A super cute book about an owl who is ostracized for being different, namely for loving poetry. Great for compassion and poetry units. I appreciated that the verses recited in the picture book were identified at the end.

Cat & Bunny by Mary Lundquist

Cat & Bunny by Mary Lundquist


[**] Cute story about friendship. If the actual story is not as strong, the illustrations are too adorable to pass up.

Galaxy Zack: Hello, NebulonGalaxy Zack: Hello, Nebulon by Ray O’Ryan
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is a fun beginning chapter book with easy-to-read text and illustrations on every page. Even though Zack if from the future, travels in outer space, and interacts with aliens, his situations are very relatable which is another one of its appealing factors.

View all my reviews

The Way to Stay in DestinyThe Way to Stay in Destiny by Augusta Scattergood
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Theo and his uncle, whom he barely knows, move to Destiny, Florida at the tail end of the school year in 1974. It’s not easy for either of them but a surprise friendship with a girl who loves baseball as much as he does and clandestine opportunities to play piano makes Theo thinks this could be home. Conflict arises when the uncle thinks they should move elsewhere. Atypical characters with plenty of heart and humor make this a delightful read.

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

The Residue YearsThe Residue Years by Mitchell S. Jackson
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I wanted to like this book. I wanted to like the characters.

I just couldn’t.

I read this as part of my (Multnomah County Library) Everybody Reads challenge. I’ve never disliked a title they had chosen before until now. What makes me sad is how disappointing this book was! The only part I liked was all the Portland references.

I have nothing against books that depict life for what it is (both good and bad, wonderful and horrible) but books need to do more than that- provide some new insight or something.

But, because of my surprisingly strong dislike of it, I can’t wait to hear what others think!

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I have an audio book I want to finish this week. Plus, I want to start Echo by Pam Munoz Ryan and The Boy in the Black Suit by Jason Reynolds.

Have a great reading week!

 

6 responses to “What Are You Reading? (136) #IMWAYR – March 1, 2015

  1. Cheriee Weichel

    March 2, 2015 at 7:18 am

    Hi Earl, I recommended a few other books for your lgbt list. I haven’t even heard of some of them. I want to get Home for our school library. The Cats of Tanglewood Forest is on my to purchase list for our library.

     
  2. The Logonauts (@thelogonauts)

    March 2, 2015 at 2:14 pm

    Love the idea of sharing “bookish moments” in your life!

     
  3. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    March 2, 2015 at 5:24 pm

    I have Melba to read, and I cannot wait. I love books about music.
    The Way to Stay in Destiny is one I definitely want to get my hands on as well. Beth Shaum adores it, and she and I usually agree. Glad to hear you liked it as well.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  4. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    March 2, 2015 at 5:46 pm

    I enjoyed The Way to Stay in Destiny a great deal.

    Home looks really good. I’m looking forward to this one.

     
  5. Ricki Ginsberg

    March 3, 2015 at 8:49 am

    Little Melba and her Big Trombone looks delightful. I am going to have to find a copy of that one! Sorry I didn’t stop by yesterday evening–wasn’t feeling well. I am glad I came back today to see what I missed! Looks like you had a great collection this week! Happy reading this coming week!

     
  6. Myra GB

    March 5, 2015 at 1:24 am

    I haven’t even heard of The Residue Years. Glad to read your candid thoughts about it though. I’m looking forward to finding Little Melba.

     

Leave a Reply

 
