RSS

New Releases: March 10, 2015

10 Mar

It was another great week of new releases!

My Pen by Christopher Myers

My Pen by Christopher Myers


[****] Beautiful lyrical story about creativity and imagination. Beautiful black and white illustrations. I loved the image of his dad, Walter Dean Myers, which caught me by surprise. This book is a must-read. This should win all kinds of awards!

The Boy & the Book by David Michael Slater, Illustrated by Bob Kolar

The Boy & the Book by David Michael Slater, Illustrated by Bob Kolar


[*] I have very tolerance for people (even kids) who destroy books. And I hate it when the parents are OK with letting children destroy them instead of teaching them the proper care and handling of books. I will give this book a re-read though to give it a second chance.

Edmund Unravels by Andrew Kolb

Edmund Unravels by Andrew Kolb


[***] A cute story about a ball of yarn who goes off on an adventure only to find there’s something missing. I love how the story celebrates independence and the importance of maintaining connections.

Stay tuned tomorrow for reviews of new nonfiction picture books!

 

2 responses to “New Releases: March 10, 2015

  1. The Styling Librarian

    March 17, 2015 at 7:35 am

    Oh no! Hope to hear more on The Boy and the Book! I loved David’s other wordless picture book The Bored Book… was looking forward to this one as well.

     
  2. Crystal

    March 17, 2015 at 5:12 pm

    My Pen sounds fabulous. I hadn’t even heard about it. I wonder how it slipped by me. Thanks for the review.

     

Leave a Reply

 
