RSS

Celebrate This Week- March 13, 2015

13 Mar

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating books’ ability to connect people.

This past Sunday, I got to dress up as Eric Carle’s Very Hungry Caterpillar for work as part of Penguin Kids’ Very Big Wiggle Tour! It was quite an experience! What I thought would be a simple costume was quite elaborate. It was all worth it though with kids and adults enjoying a story time favorite in real life!

e2e3 e1

One of my friends sent a PayPal donation for my LGBT Book Drive which just made my day! Robin is such a passionate literacy advocate herself!

On Tuesday, I stopped by the Central’s Children’s Library and had a great talk with a couple of the staff there about books! I just love connecting with other readers. I am so impressed with everything Multnomah County Library does!

Then, later that night, I attended the Everybody Reads presentation for The Residue Years by Mitchell S. Jackson. While I didn’t particularly enjoy the book (in which I seem to be in the minority,) I found his talk to be more thought-provoking. He used Revision as a philosophy, to be able to see something in a larger context, as a re-envisioning, of sorts. He advised that while we may not know what we’re going to be, we shouldn’t put ourselves in binds. Someone shared they overheard an audience member say after the event that it made him “think about the decisions in his life.”

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is Eric Carle reading The Very Hungry Caterpillar.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

 

2 responses to “Celebrate This Week- March 13, 2015

  1. Linda Baie

    March 14, 2015 at 7:36 am

    You must have made some people very happy with that costume, Earl. How fun it looks! And I like what you shared about re-envisioning, believe that we should always be looking for new adventures. Have a great weekend!

     
  2. Terje

    March 14, 2015 at 12:33 pm

    The pics of you as The Very Hungry Caterpillar could have been the only celebration and it would have been great. Wonderful that you had other celebrations to add to it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
