RSS

What Are You Reading? (138) #IMWAYR – March 15, 2015

15 Mar
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

lgbtbd
I’m having an LGBT Book Drive to benefit Basic Rights Oregon. Being LGBT can be isolating. Whenever we see ourselves in others, even in the pages of a book, there’s hope that we aren’t alone.

This week, I posted:

New Releases– Read my reviews for:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating books’ ability to connect people.

Bad HousesBad Houses by Carla Speed McNeil
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was recommended by a youth librarian because we were talking about other librarians who had published books. This young adult graphic novels has two teens meeting during an estate sale. Living in a small town, they end up discovering secrets about certain residents and themselves.

View all my reviews

Roller GirlRoller Girl by Victoria Jamieson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Roller Girl is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier’s Smile and Cece Bell’s El Deafo. It’s an honest coming-of-age story that depicts the grayness of certain situations and the unavoidable imperfections of people.

My only complaint was Astrid’s nickname even if it was intended to be mean. But Astrid as a name does pay off in the end.

View all my reviews

The StormThe Storm by Cynthia Rylant
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

An absolutely endearing and charming story of a makeshift family. Pandora the cat, the lonely lighthouse keeper, and Seabold the dog, a solitary sailor, find themselves thrown together. After another storm rages towards them, their lives are changed once again by a surprise out at sea. I love recommending this to our customers!

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

Poirot Investigates by Agatha Christie

Poirot Investigates by Agatha Christie


[***] [Agatha Christie Reading Challenge] [Off the Shelf Reading Challenge]

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m listening to Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell and hoping to finish reading Monster by Walter Dean Myers.
Have a great reading week!

 

6 responses to “What Are You Reading? (138) #IMWAYR – March 15, 2015

  1. Cheriee Weichel

    March 16, 2015 at 9:09 am

    Thank you for your reviews Earl. I’m looking forward to grabbing a copy of Roller Girl and The Storm for our school library.

     
  2. Tammy and Clare

    March 16, 2015 at 4:22 pm

    Thanks Earl – We can’t wait to read Roller Girl. We also love Cynthia Rylant’s Lighthouse Series. Have you read the Cobble Street Cousin books. We love those too.

     
  3. Ricki Ginsberg

    March 16, 2015 at 6:08 pm

    Ooo, My Pen looks intriguing. I haven’t read any of these! I hope you had a great week!

     
  4. Myra GB

    March 16, 2015 at 8:58 pm

    I’ve been reading so many great things about Roller Girl – I have a feeling she’d be my 13 year old girl’s new heroine. 🙂 The new Myers book looks like something I should get for myself! 🙂

     
  5. The Styling Librarian

    March 17, 2015 at 7:36 am

    Can’t wait to read Roller Girl… speed up book order! 🙂 Happy reading to you…

     
  6. Crystal

    March 17, 2015 at 5:40 pm

    I am most eager for My Pen and Roller Girl. It looks like you had a great week.

     

Leave a Reply

 
