RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #63

18 Mar

nfpb2015

Separate Is Never Equal: Sylvia Mendez and Her Family's Fight for DesegregationSeparate Is Never Equal: Sylvia Mendez and Her Family’s Fight for Desegregation by Duncan Tonatiuh
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This picture book looks into a not-as-well-known (compared to Brown vs. Board of Education) court case of desegregation in California involving Mexican Americans. It’s fascinating that it wasn’t really that long ago that this was an issue- and sadly still is in many ways. I’m on the fence whether I like the illustrations. The collage technique used here is quite unique.

View all my reviews
[We Need Diverse Books]

 

5 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #63

  1. Linda Baie

    March 18, 2015 at 6:02 am

    Yes, this is a good one, a story I didn’t know until I read the book. Thanks, Earl, for reminding me of it.

     
  2. randomlyreading

    March 18, 2015 at 9:08 am

    This is a popular book this week, but it’s a book that should always promoted. Thanks for sharing it today with everyone.

     
  3. alybee930

    March 18, 2015 at 6:57 pm

    Funny that two of you featured this one this week. A good book to feature and keep reminding people of.

     
  4. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    March 18, 2015 at 7:09 pm

    I have this one in my library books pile, and I look forward to reading it even more now. 🙂

     
  5. Myra GB

    March 20, 2015 at 7:02 am

    I’ve seen this book shared for quite awhile now, and I’m intrigued, especially as you mentioned your reservations about the illustrations. Looking forward to finding it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
