RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #64

25 Mar

nfpb2015

Winnie: The True Story of the Bear Who Inspired Winnie-the-PoohWinnie: The True Story of the Bear Who Inspired Winnie-the-Pooh by Sally M. Walker
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A.A. Milne’s Winnie-the-Pooh stories are a couple of my favorites. It was absolutely wonderful to read the true story behind the stories- and it’s as charming as one could imagine it would be. Author’s notes includes more information about the soldier, the bear, and the author. Plus there are some pictures on the endpapers.

View all my reviews

The Case for Loving: The Fight for Interracial MarriageThe Case for Loving: The Fight for Interracial Marriage by Selina Alko
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’d been wanting to read this picture book for awhile since it’s been getting lots of positive reviews. It didn’t disappoint. It was almost unbelievable to read the extents of what people had to overcome- and also that discrimination of this sort is still happening now. An eye opener and a hopeful book that love will win over hate and fear.

View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #64

  1. The Logonauts (@thelogonauts)

    March 25, 2015 at 2:20 pm

    Two great books! I still need to get up my review of The Case of Loving too. Definitely a must read!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    March 25, 2015 at 7:03 pm

    Love that Winnie-the-Pooh book, and will have to find the other one. I think I’ve seen it before, & it seems important to know it. Thanks, Earl.

     
  3. Michele

    March 26, 2015 at 11:49 am

    Winnie-the-Pooh is not my favorite character, but the story behind him was really interesting, wasn’t it?

     

Leave a Reply

 
