RSS

Celebrate This Week- March 27, 2015

27 Mar
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating Seattle.

I’d been to Seattle once before- and aside from getting to hang out with great friends, I wasn’t particularly impressed by the city. I had won round-trip bus tickets to go there so I went there again last weekend.

It was mostly a literary visit, and I wanted to share the bookstores and libraries I ended up going to.

smb
Seattle Mystery Bookshop was a nice little store, very straightforward in its layout. Portland had a bookstore dedicated to mysteries as well but sadly it closed down a few years ago. I’m glad there’s a specialized bookstore for this genre. A couple of my favorite literary characters are detectives- Encyclopedia Brown and Hercule Poirot.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Central Library is the only place I had visited on my previous trip to Seattle. Before I thought it was too cold and modern but now- not as much. It is a beautifully designed building. Whenever I visit libraries, I always like to see the Friends presence there. Lots of books and literary knick-knacks were available at the FriendShop.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


The Elliot Bay Book Company was the bookstore everyone was telling me to visit. I loved the smell of books as I entered the place. And I found some cool titles in their children’s section.

lgbtlib
In my many walks of Seattle, I stumbled upon the Gay City LGBT Library. Because of my own personal hang ups, it took a lot of coaxing on my part to walk in without feeling embarrassed, which just goes to show how important something like this is. It was a very organized selection and something I’m hoping to aspire to for my LGBT Book Drive to benefit Basic Rights Oregon.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


My favorite part of Secret Garden Books was the loose brick tiles autographed by authors and illustrators!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


To me, libraries are hopeful places. They provide opportunities and answers. There was an art exhibit at the Ballard Branch of what I’m assuming were different classrooms from all over the city being represented through various ways. I got a kick of seeing a Little Free Library inside a library as part of the exhibit!

I also ended up visiting the Washington Talking Book & Braille Library. I love the services they provide because stories truly enriches people’s lives.

kb
Kinokuniya Book Stores sell American and Asian books and toys. The ones I’ve been to (in Portland and Seattle) were part of Uwajimaya Asian specialty supermarkets. I was a bit overwhelmed at this place but they had super cute miniatures. My boss would have loved it!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


One of the nicest neighborhoods I got to visit in Seattle was Queen Anne. It was very quaint. As I was walking around, I saw (bird?) houses circling a telephone pole. Very creative. Queen Anne Book Company seemed to be a beloved institution of the community. I heard someone walk in and say, “Now this is a bookstore!” The Queen Anne Branch was a Carnegie Library which is a real treat for me. And it was beautiful!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Pike Place Market is the home of three bookstores. Part of its appeal is that you never really know where things are and you just happen to come by a vendor, a restaurant, a gift shop, or a bookstore. I only went to Lion Heart Book Store before. This time I had the opportunity to check out two other ones. I was kind of worried of going in Left Bank Books, afraid it would be too radical but it was a surprisingly cozy place. It had a reading nook on the second floor that was very inviting. I found a book for my LGBT Book Drive that I think would help people. Lamplight Books is perfect for those readers who have no specific book in mind It’s a great place to discover new used books.

star6

star5

star4

star2

star3

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


One of my absolute favorite places I visited in Seattle was the Starbucks Reserve Roastery and Tasting Room. It’s a spacious beautiful place for coffee and Starbucks fanatics. I went there all three days. The last time because I didn’t realize they had a library towards the back filled with books about coffee! Another thing that tickled me about the place was their unisex restroom!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


The last library I visited during my trip was the International District/ Chinatown branch. A couple loosely literary based places I visited were Storyville Coffee Company and The Bookstore Bar & Cafe. And, a very inspiring place I visited was the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Visitor Center. Amazing place to learn about what the foundation does to make the world a better place! Lots of interactive elements. And, I loved the importance paced on education and books! I highly recommend people visit here whenever they are in Seattle.

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is this recent fun video of Mariah Carey because it’s her birthday today!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

7 responses to “Celebrate This Week- March 27, 2015

  1. Linda Baie

    March 28, 2015 at 8:42 am

    Wow, what wonderful bookstores in Seattle, Earl. You visited so many! The Queen Anne Book Company does look wonderful. I’ve been to all the bookstores in the Pike Place Market when I went to Seattle with my students. What great stores they were. Love this sharing, good celebrations all!

     
  2. Crystal

    March 28, 2015 at 11:38 am

    Whew! What an amazing tour of the bookish places in Seattle. I’m impressed with how many you were able to visit in one trip. I’ve been to the bookstores in Pike Place Market and enjoyed those visits, but didn’t get to anything beyond that. Next time I’m there, I will try to follow your plan. 🙂

     
  3. Ramona

    March 28, 2015 at 12:13 pm

    I live here, and haven’t been to all these bookstores. I have one to add to your list for your next visit. Third Place Books in Lake Forest Park. You’ve inspired me to go check out the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation Visitor Center (the next time I have guests in town). Funny how we only do some things when guests are visiting!

     
  4. Kendra Limback

    March 28, 2015 at 1:35 pm

    Holy Books in Seattle! This is amazing. Thank you for sharing all of your travels. I’m saving this post, as sometime soon we hope to make it back out to the NW.

     
  5. Michele

    March 28, 2015 at 2:21 pm

    Love the pictures, thanks for including them! And yes, that smell of books upon entering a bookshop. It’s lovely!

     
  6. carriegelson

    March 28, 2015 at 10:04 pm

    I was just in Seattle. This post makes me want to return and see all things literacy that I missed.

     
  7. cvarsalona

    March 30, 2015 at 4:48 am

    Earl, I heard that Seattle is amazing but you put a different spin on it for me. Books, books, and more books! What’s not to love about your post. Thank you for your tour that has inspired me to talk books today.

     

Leave a Reply

 
