RSS

Celebrate This Week- April 10, 2015

10 Apr
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan. It has become one of My Most Favorite Favorites. I also added it to my new revamped To Be Read list which is now 55 titles.

must-read-2015-logo

Counting by 7sCounting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Counting by 7s is a book I’d been meaning to read and people have highly recommended to me but only got around to now. And, I can’t believe I had put off reading this book for so long! It has elements from a couple of other books I enjoyed- The Meaning of Maggie and A Snicker of Magic (which is another one of my most favorite favorites)- but Counting by 7s is singularly its own wonderful entity.

I loved the characters from twelve-year-old Willow Chance who likes to assess other people’s medical conditions to Quang-ha, a lone wolf of a teenager who is more insightful than he lets on.

I had refrained from reading this sooner because the tragedy of losing two sets of parents seemed overdramatic and unnecessary but everything that results from it is incredible- heartbreaking and uplifting at the same time. That what the story is about- the surprising consequences of our actions- or from life’s unexpected moments.

No one who meets and understands comes out unaffected.Readers will feel transformed as well!

View all my reviews

My Audio/Video Pick of the week is “When Your Feet Don’t Touch the Ground” from the musical Finding Neverland, sung by Gary Barlow. I love sad songs! They make me happy.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

9 responses to “Celebrate This Week- April 10, 2015

  1. jarhartz

    April 11, 2015 at 9:27 am

    Counting by Sevens was a wonderous read. I suppose I suspended disbelief with the loss of both parents and just dove into the book. It seems so much of children’s lit eliminates the parental force. An interesting study their perhaps!

     
  2. jarhartz

    April 11, 2015 at 9:28 am

    I meant “there” … need to reread!

     
  3. Leigh Anne

    April 11, 2015 at 10:26 am

    I also loved Counting by 7’s. Willow was a character I wanted to hug and bring home with me.

     
  4. Linda Baie

    April 11, 2015 at 11:17 am

    It is a wondrous read, & I’m happy you finally found time to read it, Earl. I’ve shared it & shared it with students.

     
  5. carriegelson

    April 11, 2015 at 11:30 am

    Loved this title too! My daughter’s teacher read this aloud to her class and it was a favourite of many children.

     
  6. Terje

    April 11, 2015 at 1:12 pm

    I like the idea of Most Favorite Favorites. I can understand why Counting by 7s found it’s place there. I enjoyed reading it a lot.

     
    • Terje

      April 11, 2015 at 1:12 pm

      correction: its place

       
  7. Crystal

    April 12, 2015 at 8:46 pm

    Counting By 7s was one of my favorites too. 🙂

     
  8. Myra GB

    April 14, 2015 at 4:26 pm

    I’m so glad you enjoyed Counting by 7s. Love love love this book.

     

Leave a Reply

 
