RSS

What Are You Reading? (142) #IMWAYR – April 12, 2015

12 Apr

lgbtbooks
I’m having an LGBT Book Drive to benefit Basic Rights Oregon. Please consider donating!

I updated my To Be Read and My Most Favorite Favorites lists.

This week, I posted:

New Releases– Read my reviews for:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating Counting by 7s. Read my review of the book by clicking the link.

Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan

Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan


[***]
Author Kim Griswell came to our store today to read her latest book, Rufus Goes to Sea. I always like to read what our visiting authors have written when I get a chance. Both are delightful but I could be biased because the main character is a book-loving pig. The first story has Rufus wanting to go to school but the principal doesn’t want a pig in school. The follow-up has Rufus wanting to be a pirate. The illustrations are super playful and I love that they link to the next book in the series! Following the reading, kids made pig snouts and pirate patches!

rufus

must-read-2015-logo

Henry Huggins (Henry Huggins, #1)Henry Huggins by Beverly Cleary
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A great introduction to the world of Beverly Cleary! I may have read this and some other books by hers when I was in elementary school but that was such a long time ago, everything seems like a first-time read.

I loved that this book was written in response to not finding books boys actually enjoyed and that she went against writing a female main character just because that’s “what she knew.” She captured a boy’s mind well. And, Henry Huggins is an interesting character without being too goody-goodie.

Fans will delight in meeting a few of her other famous characters in this book as well!

View all my reviews
[Beverly Cleary Reading Challenge]

To Die For by Christopher Pike

To Die For by Christopher Pike


[***]
[Off the Shelf Reading Challenge]
To Die For is an omnibus of the following two books:

Slumber PartySlumber Party by Christopher Pike
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Good old Pike. Slumber Party is your standard YA thriller genre that I still say was in its peak in the late 80’s through mid 90’s. A group of friends have a ski weekend but mysterious fire-related incidents keep happening that recalls an accident from their past. What I love(d) about Pike’s books were that they seemed edgy at the time.

There’s something about rereading books. You pick up the clues that the writer has planted. You also appreciate the structure of the story more.

View all my reviews

WeekendWeekend by Christopher Pike
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Weekend doesn’t read well after reading it back to back with Slumber Party (the To Die For omnibus repackaged Christoper Pike’s first two novels together) because they have basically the same format. It definitely doesn’t have the high-stakes feel of his later novels. This does introduce Pike’s fondness of an extraordinary, supernatural and mysterious creature- in this case, a shaman.

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

11 responses to “What Are You Reading? (142) #IMWAYR – April 12, 2015

  1. msyingling

    April 13, 2015 at 3:30 am

    I’ll have to recommend Henry Huggins today, although my Christopher Pike collection smelled so bad that most of them went in the last great weeding! Looks like you have a busy week of reading!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    April 13, 2015 at 5:19 am

    Lots of books this week, Earl. I’m glad you liked Counting By 7s-a super story! I just read that Beverly Cleary just turned 99-what gifts she’s given to us!

     
  3. Cheriee Weichel

    April 13, 2015 at 6:47 am

    I’m so glad you loved Counting by 7’s. It was one of my favourite books last year. I’m really looking forward to reading Enormous Smallness: A Story of E. E. Cummings by Matthew Burgess. I’ve been a fan since I discovered his poetry a very very long time ago. I think I even stopped using capital letters for a while when I was in highschool…

     
  4. Tara Smith

    April 13, 2015 at 8:17 am

    What a lot of wonderful books you have managed to read this week! I so loved Henry Huggins, and everything by Cleary…we are, as Linda said, so indebted to her.

     
  5. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    April 13, 2015 at 3:08 pm

    I felt the same as you initially about Counting by 7s. I even abandoned it when I had it in ARC form. But something compelled me to give it another shot by listening to the audiobook and boy am I glad I did! The audiobook was amazing!

     
  6. Ricki Ginsberg

    April 13, 2015 at 5:45 pm

    Counting by 7s is on my #mustreadin2015 list! At least…I think it is. If it isn’t, I meant to put it there. Thank you for the review. You are a busy guy this week!

     
  7. Crystal

    April 13, 2015 at 7:14 pm

    I’m really looking forward to getting Rad. I am seeing some excellent reviews.

     
  8. vgpratt

    April 13, 2015 at 8:40 pm

    A couple of your picture books are ones I’m really excited about. After reading Have You Seen My Dragon?, I was really excited to see that Steve Light had written a “monster” book. I am also very interested in getting Enormous Smallness. I’ve always had a soft place in my heart for e.e. cummings, and I think I’ll really enjoy this book! Thanks for sharing some great titles!

     
  9. Myra GB

    April 14, 2015 at 4:28 pm

    Alas we don’t have Enormous Smallness in our library yet. Hopefully by middle of this year. Love your LGBT Book Drive – I have yet to read Tim Federle’s books – in my shelf now though, waiting to be read! 🙂

     
  10. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    April 15, 2015 at 3:58 am

    Ooo…. Her Idea looks great! Both of those nonfiction picture books also look like they need to be on my list. maggie and milly and molly and may is one of my all time favorite poems, and I’d love to learn more about the man. Rad American Women WILL be purchased. Thank you!

     
  11. The Styling Librarian

    April 15, 2015 at 8:11 am

    Love that you’re still plugging away at Christopher Pike. Hooray for Counting by 7s love! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
