RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #67

15 Apr

nfpb2015

Ben Franklin's Big Splash: The Mostly True Story of His First InventionBen Franklin’s Big Splash: The Mostly True Story of His First Invention by Barb Rosenstock
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is a fun picture book about Benjamin Franklin as a young boy doing one of the things he loved to do to pass the time and help him think things through- swimming. What’s super impressive was the timeline included listing some of his achievements and contributions. What a truly great man to aspire to!

View all my reviews

Look Where We Live!: A First Book of Community BuildingLook Where We Live!: A First Book of Community Building by Scot Ritchie
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This picture book introduces young readers to what a community is and what one can do to be part of theirs. Lots of illustrations and a story revolving around a street fair trying to raise money for the library will hopefully whet kids’ appetites to read more about this and take action.

View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #67

  1. Linda Baie

    April 15, 2015 at 4:01 pm

    I thought Ben Franklin’s Big Splash was clever, showed the persistence in inventing so he could get it the way he wanted it. It would be good for an inventors unit. I’ve seen about the Community Building book, but still haven’t read it. Thanks very much, Earl.

     
  2. Michele

    April 15, 2015 at 6:43 pm

    I’ve seen Look Where We Live mentioned before, but after you mentioning it I looked at my library and we still don’t have it. It looks like one that would be good for our grade levels that study communities. Thanks for mentioning it, I’ll keep my eyes open for it!

     
  3. alybee930

    April 15, 2015 at 7:01 pm

    I just love Barb Rosenstock’s work and Ben Franklin’s Big Splash is one of my favorites. Thanks for sharing these two books.

     

Leave a Reply

 
