RSS

What Are You Reading? (143) #IMWAYR – April 19, 2015

19 Apr

This week, I posted:

New Releases– Read my reviews for:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

-Celebrate This Week- This week, I’m celebrating the Oregon Book Awards.

I created an album of Authors I’ve Met on the Facebook page!

Peace is an Offering by Annette LeBox, Illustrated by Stephanie Graegin

Peace is an Offering by Annette LeBox, Illustrated by Stephanie Graegin


[***]This wonderful poem invites readers to let kindness into their lives and out to the world around them. It’ll be a great companion to All the World by Liz Scanlon.


[***][**] Readers will travel to France and Israel in these picture books that also deals with opposites. At the end of each book is a glossary of the places that was visited or alluded to. Their tour guides (mouse and gecko, respectively) are hidden in each page for another level of fun.

Bunny Roo, I Love You by Melissa Marr, Illustrated by Teagan White

Bunny Roo, I Love You by Melissa Marr, Illustrated by Teagan White


[***] Adorably sweet with perfectly complimentary illustrations.

Wild Ideas: Let Nature Inspire Your Thinking by Elin Kelsey, Illustrated by Soyeon Kim

Wild Ideas: Let Nature Inspire Your Thinking by Elin Kelsey, Illustrated by Soyeon Kim


[**] Wild Ideas has the beautiful dioramas and scientific research that You Are Stardust also had but I felt this book would have been better if the science of each page/concept was explained as a caption.

From Rain to RainbowsFrom Rain to Rainbows by Chronicle Books
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is another little book that celebrates life’s good and bad moments and how sometimes things can be both. Mostly illustrations.

View all my reviews

Pluto: A Wonder StoryPluto: A Wonder Story by R.J. Palacio
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Another great installment set in the Wonder world but definitely doesn’t add or take away from the original novel. It’s someone else’s story and he has his own things to deal with.

View all my reviews

The True Meaning of SmekdayThe True Meaning of Smekday by Adam Rex
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I didn’t know what to expect with this book. My interest was piqued when I saw there was a sequel and a movie.

I decided to read this as an audiobook, which had its share of of pro’s and con’s. Pro: It was a great production. The reader, Bahni Turpin, did an amazing job with all the aliens’ voices. Con: You miss out on the illustrations in the book. There are a few sections told in comic strip form.

I didn’t expect to get so immersed in it. This is great for even emergent (reluctant?) readers because it’s an adventure story about an alien invasion. It’s also a fun friendship story with lots of action and heart thrown into the mix.

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

Bad Babysitter (Babymouse, #19)Bad Babysitter by Jennifer L. Holm
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Babymouse is back in this nineteenth (!) installment of the series. This time, she tackles babysitting as she does with everything else in her life- lots of gusto. We’re treated to more of her imaginings from the predictable Mary Poppins reference to hilarious horror movie spoof to a Winnie-the-Pooh scene. I thought it was clever that she would be reading Comics Squad: Recess!

Side note: Otto seems to be a popular owl name!

View all my reviews

Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of ImaginationVery Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination by J.K. Rowling
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was an inspiring little book for graduation from J.K. Rowling’s Harvard Commencement Speech she gave in 2008. Her words have been paired with great illustrations by Joel Holland.

View all my reviews

Ramona Quimby, Age 8Ramona Quimby, Age 8 by Beverly Cleary
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was absolutely delighted with Ramona Quimby, Age 8. It’s rare to be able to perfectly capture the thoughts of a child as Beverly Cleary did with this book. There are wonders and experience for sure but there are worries and fears as well that seem like all there ever is in their world in their young lives. Sometimes it’s easy to forget that.

I wasn’t really sold with Ramona at first but the more I understood her, the more I liked her. I finished reading the book caring for the characters and want to read more of their lives.

Of all the Ramona books, I chose this one because it introduced the Drop Everything And Read concept which has become a national literary celebration falling on Beverly Cleary’s Birthday!

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

I’m at Pasadena for the American Booksellers Association’s Children’s Institute for the next couple of days!

hearts

Have a great reading week!

 

9 responses to “What Are You Reading? (143) #IMWAYR – April 19, 2015

  1. Ms. Yingling

    April 20, 2015 at 2:20 am

    My daughter is bound and determined to read everything ever written by Rowling, so I may have to get Very Good Lives for her when she graduates next year. My students want to know when Palaccio is coming out with another book– I guess it will be a while. And Babymouse #19? Wow!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    April 20, 2015 at 6:14 am

    Have a great time in Pasadena-love the picture! I just saw Wild Things on Carrie’s post-looks great. And didn’t know about Pluto-wonder-ful! Thanks Earl.

     
  3. The Styling Librarian

    April 20, 2015 at 8:59 am

    Peace is an Offering, how lovely. Have fun on the trip and happy reading to you! 🙂

     
  4. The Logonauts (@thelogonauts)

    April 20, 2015 at 11:11 am

    Love that you loved Ramona! I need to get newer copies of those books with updated covers, because some of the 80s-era covers make it hard to convince my students to give them a try. So good!

     
  5. cheriee

    April 20, 2015 at 12:56 pm

    If The True Meaning of Smekdaywere not already on my to read list, it sure would be now. I appreciate all your reviews here, and will get Look Where We Live! and Peace is an Offering because they will be especially appreciated in our Elementary school.

     
  6. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    April 20, 2015 at 3:33 pm

    I honestly thought the audio of Smekday was so stellar that I didn’t feel like I missed out on the illustrations. I loved the book so much that I own multiple copies though so I was able to see what I missed out on. 🙂

     
  7. Kay Mcgriff

    April 20, 2015 at 4:22 pm

    I did not know about Pluto or Rowling’s book/graduation speech. I’m adding both of those to my list of books I want to read.

     
  8. crbrunelle

    April 20, 2015 at 7:37 pm

    The Smekday audio was excellent. I don’t think I realized that I missed illustrations. I think I’ll have to take a peek.

     
  9. Myra GB

    April 22, 2015 at 9:55 pm

    Lovely sunglasses – so suave. I have to find the Smekday book – not a huge fan of audiobooks. I did a round up of peace-themed picture books previously, so sorry to have missed out on Peace Is An offering.

     

Leave a Reply

 
