RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #68

22 Apr

nfpb2015

Balloons Over Broadway: The True Story of the Puppeteer of Macy's ParadeBalloons Over Broadway: The True Story of the Puppeteer of Macy’s Parade by Melissa Sweet
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was familiar with the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade but I didn’t know about the man behind it all. It was truly fascinating learning about how his hobbies led to this tradition still being celebrated today.It was cool think of those balloons as upside down marionettes- a new way to look at them for them. The illustrations are exquisite. Some may just want to get this book just to see them!

View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #68

  1. trkravtin

    April 22, 2015 at 9:12 am

    I love this book! Yes, in all the aspects you mention, plus, I love how it celebrates creativity. Going where no one had gone before and all that. Melissa Sweet’s illustrations are amazing.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    April 22, 2015 at 4:30 pm

    I bought this when it came out for my grandson, Earl, who, with his parents, watches the Macy’s parade faithfully every year. You’re right, the illustrations are marvelous.

     
  3. Michele

    April 22, 2015 at 6:48 pm

    I am familiar with Melissa Sweet’s illustrations, but this was the first time I read a text by her and I was thrilled to see she can write well, too. It was a great story, and I love her illustrations. Love the story behind the infamous part of the Macy’s parade!

     

Leave a Reply

 
