RSS

What Are You Reading? (144) #IMWAYR – April 26, 2015

26 Apr

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my review for:

Balloons Over Broadway: The True Story of the Puppeteer of Macy's Parade by Melissa Sweet

Balloons Over Broadway: The True Story of the Puppeteer of Macy’s Parade by Melissa Sweet

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating the Children’s Institute.

My reading this week mostly consisted of advanced copies of books from the Children’s Institute. I’ll have those reviews closer to their release dates.

The War that Saved My LifeThe War that Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I don’t like historical fiction or gimmicky sounding books. For awhile I was against reading this but after a few good word-of-mouth reviews, I gave in. And, as is the case most of the time, I enjoyed it.

I didn’t think I really would continue it since the beginning was kind of harsh. The mom character was quite evil and I almost couldn’t bear it.

Then, in contrast, everything seemed to be going too well for Ada and James- for Ada, especially. Susan was a saint for putting up with their ungratefulness. A part of me could understand the kids’ behaviors but they came off as quite greedy and selfish to me.

Despite all that, I got sucked in. I’m not quite sure I sold it but I would recommend this book to people and I wouldn’t be lying when I say I liked it!

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

The Mouse and the Motorcycle (Ralph S. Mouse, #1)The Mouse and the Motorcycle by Beverly Cleary
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

“Two creatures who shared a love for motorcycles naturally spoke the same language.”

With sound logic like this to explain how Ralph S. Mouse (a mouse) and Keith Gridley (a boy), Beverly Cleary crafts another memorable tale of friendship.

It’s funny how finding an aspirin is one of the main plot points. A part of me thinks that Keith probably got sick from interacting so much with a rodent.

This reads like a total throwback but in a good way.

View all my reviews

Expect a review for this book later this week:

Wangari Maathai: The Woman Who Planted Millions of Trees by Franck Prévot

Wangari Maathai: The Woman Who Planted Millions of Trees by Franck Prévot

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “What Are You Reading? (144) #IMWAYR – April 26, 2015

  1. msyingling

    April 27, 2015 at 3:29 am

    I bought The War That Saved My Life because I really enjoyed it, but then I adore historical fiction. Surprisingly, it has circulated well with my students! There is something appealing about a story where the children are so abused but then life gets better. I should read Mouse and the Motorcyle again. Probably haven’t read it since…1974!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    April 27, 2015 at 5:13 am

    I still haven’t read this latest Wangari Maathai, should find it! Thanks for the extra bits about The War That Saved My Life, Earl. Sometimes I avoid books because of things I’ve heard. I’m glad you finally liked it!

     
  3. The Styling Librarian

    April 27, 2015 at 7:20 am

    🙂 Enjoy all those ARCs! What a fun time can be had reading them, but also hard to bite your tongue if there’s a fantastic one… Happy reading week to you.

     
  4. cheriee

    April 27, 2015 at 12:46 pm

    Thanks for this review of The War that Saved My Life. It’s on my ‘to read’ list but I like to get as much information as possible since there are so many books on that list. Love the cover of Wangari Maathai and look forward to reading your review.

     
  5. Michele

    April 27, 2015 at 6:05 pm

    I’m looking forward to The War That Saved My Life. My daughter has orthopedic challenges, so I love finding books that can inspire her.

     
  6. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    April 27, 2015 at 6:07 pm

    I really appreciate your review of THE WAR THAT SAVED MY LIFE. I pretty much agree with everything you said.

     
  7. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    April 27, 2015 at 6:14 pm

    Sweet’s work is always so good. I’m glad you liked Balloons.
    I look forward to reading The War that Saved my Life. I really enjoy a good historical fiction book.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  8. Myra GB

    April 28, 2015 at 6:59 am

    I’ve read quite a lot of rave reviews about The War that Saved My Life – thanks for sharing your insights about it. The book cover of Wangari Maathai’s new PBB is just so visually stunning.

     

Leave a Reply

 
