RSS

Commitment to Literacy: LGBT Book Drive

30 Apr

For the past couple of months, I held a LGBT Book Drive.

lgbtbd

Books have always been my saving grace. They made me feel less alone. They made me believe that great and wonderful things were possible.

As a gay man growing up, I’ve definitely felt alone, that I didn’t belong, that there was no happy ending for my story.

Being LGBT can be isolating. Whenever we see ourselves in others, even in the pages of a book, there’s hope that we aren’t alone.

The book drive benefited Basic Rights Oregon to provide them a library of new LGBT books that people who go to their offices can check out for a couple of weeks and return for other readers. The donations included board books, picture books, graphic novels, and middle grade, young adult and adult titles- both fiction and non-fiction- featuring LGBT characters.

I hoped others felt as I did about the power of books to transform lives. And they did.

lgbtbooks

I had friends step up immediately. And I was surprised that others outside the circle of people I personally knew contributed as well. I received books, donations, and support in person, by mail, through PayPal, and I even tried GoFundMe!

I will update this post with the final list of books that were donated. Until then, this is the LAST DAY of the LGBT Book Drive. I am asking if you can contribute (if you hadn’t yet) and/or spread the word!

Donate through PayPal at EA12L [at] HOTMAIL [dot] COM Any amount helps. If you want your donation to go towards a specific book (or books), please indicate which they are.

Or, you can donate through GoFundMe.

I created a book list that people can choose from to donate as a starting point. I shared some resources to get more ideas. And, if there are titles you feel must be included in this library, let me know. I want a diverse range to best represent the LGBT community.

Book List
-And Tango Makes Three by Justin Richardson- DONATED
-In Our Mother’s House by Patricia Polacco- DONATED
-Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress by Christine Baldacchino
-Uncle Bobby’s Wedding by Sarah S. Brannen
-This Day in June by Gayle E. Pitman- DONATED
-Heather Has Two Mommies by Leslea Newman- DONATED
-Daddy, Papa, and Me by Leslea Newman- DONATED
-Mommy, Mama, and Me by Leslea Newman- DONATED
-Better Nate than Ever by Tim Federle- DONATED
-Five, Six, Seven, Nate by Tim Federle- DONATED
-Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamine Alire Saenz- DONATED
-Every Day by David Levithan
-I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandie Nelson
-Ask the Passengers by A.S. King
-Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin- DONATED
-The Normal Heart by Larry Kramer
-And the Band Played On: Politics, People, and the AIDS Epidemic by Randy Shilts- DONATED
-For All of Us, One Today by Richard Blanco- DONATED
-October Mourning by Leslea Newman
-The World According to Garp by John Irving
-Beyond Magenta: Transgender Teens Speak Out by Susan Kulkin- DONATED
-The Letter Q: Queer Writers’ Letters to their Younger Selves by Sarah Moon
-It Gets Better by Dan Savage
-Blue Is the Warmest Color by Julie Maroh
-Born on a Blue Day by Daniel Tammet

Resources
-Stonewall Book Awards

-ALA’s Rainbow List


-Books for kids with LGBT

-Multnomah County Library’s Recommendations
-Lambda Literary
-Gay City LGBT Library (Seattle)- Goodreads account

If you have any questions, email me at EA12L [at] HOTMAIL [dot] COM

Thank you!

 

One response to “Commitment to Literacy: LGBT Book Drive

  1. msyingling

    May 1, 2015 at 3:13 am

    Kris Dinnison’s You Me Him comes out in July, and is definitely a title you should take a look at. Good luck with your book drive!

     

Leave a Reply

 
