RSS

Celebrate This Week- May 1, 2015

01 May
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating The Honest Truth by Dan Gemeinhart.

It was our recent Family Book Club pick.

fbc

We started off sharing some of our favorite poems including ones from Shel Silverstein and Michael Rosen. One of the book clubbers recommended Sharon Creech’s Love That Dog– a novel told in verse- that I immediately sought out and read. (My review of that book will be part of my IMWAYR post.)

The Honest TruthThe Honest Truth by Dan Gemeinhart
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This will definitely be a book people will be talking about this year.

It’s an adventure story between a boy and his dog.

It’s a friendship story between the boy and a girl and deciding how far one should keep a secret.

It’s a story about a boy with cancer who runs away from home and decides to climb Mount Rainier. While death casts its shadow over the entire narrative, this is ultimately a life-affirming story.

Maybe if I were an animal lover, I would have had a stronger emotional connection. I did appreciate the use of haikus throughout.

View all my reviews

Honestly, I wasn’t that much of a novel when I first read it. I think it was because it was so hyped up to me. But, talking about it with others and getting their perspectives, I appreciate the book more.

It was hard to talk about this without getting emotional because of the subject matter. This is a great book for discussion because it tackles big questions that invites people to think what they would do in the characters’ situations.

We can’t wait to meet Dan Gemeinhart when he comes to the store later this month!

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is the lyric video for Mariah Carey’s new song, Infinity. I’ll be seeing her concert in Vegas on May 13th and I can’t wait!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

4 responses to “Celebrate This Week- May 1, 2015

  1. Terje

    May 2, 2015 at 12:46 am

    Love that Dog is one of my favorite books. Now I am curious to read The Honest Truth. I like that you said what you really felt without making the book sound better than you thought.

     
  2. Michelle Haseltine

    May 2, 2015 at 5:23 am

    The Honest Truth is one of my new favorites!! Love the idea of a family book club too!! Enjoy the concert. It sounds great!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    May 2, 2015 at 6:57 am

    Lots of people are talking about this one. Maybe I can get to it this summer. Thanks for sharing that you celebrate it, Earl.

     
  4. jarhartz

    May 2, 2015 at 12:47 pm

    I haven’t read it. I think I have avoided it because of the hype. But — your review is pushing me to consider putting it on my summer list (getting longer by the minute). Sounds like it might make a good read aloud. THank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
