RSS

Celebrate This Week- May 8, 2015

08 May
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating the kindness that has been shown during my LGBT Book Drive.

It’s really been my Commitment to Literacy this year. Instead of rehashing what it is and why it’s important to me, you can read about it here and here.

I know it’s not going to be everyone’s bag of tea and that’s fine but I’m so glad I’m doing this. I have incredible friends who I know with some of them money’s a bit tight but they showed their support. My boss even donated.

Some people I don’t even personally know contributed but I feel we’re kindred spirits because of their acts of kindness. Sara Ryan, a writer and librarian here in Portland, donated a couple of her books and bought some other titles when she dropped them off at the bookstore where I work. Tim Federle, whose Nate books I simply adore, gave through GoFundMe. I really do think writers, readers, and book-lovers in general are the best kinds of people.

Some of the things I’ve done and places I’ve gone to were related to this Book Drive. In Seattle, I found they had a LGBT Library. In Pasadena, for a bookseller’s conference, I met David Levithan, whose books (at least, two) have already been donated, and Alex Gino, who has a book, George, I wish was already out so I can include it.

And, recently, I went to a reading put on by Ooligan Press to buy a copy of their recent publication, Untangling the Knot: Queer Voices on Marriage, Relationships & Identity. They had invited a few of the writers to read their work. I appreciated the differing view points they offered and once again I was just reminded how much I don’t know about the LGBT community. But as I had written around the time of the Bruce Jenner and Diane Sawyer interview and what this Book Drive is reminding me, “whatever letter you are in life’s spectrum, hopefully, you’re a part that stands for LOVE.”

You can donate through GoFundMe here.

lgbtbooks2

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is from the Portland Police Bureau.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

5 responses to “Celebrate This Week- May 8, 2015

  1. Holly Mueller

    May 9, 2015 at 7:54 am

    I think it’s great you’re doing this, Earl. I have a great high school teacher friend who is starting an LGTB student group at her high school. It’s important work to make LGTB young people and teens feel connected and accepted.

     
  2. Crystal

    May 9, 2015 at 8:59 am

    I love that quote, “whatever letter you are in life’s spectrum, hopefully, you’re a part that stands for LOVE.” What a powerful video. Thanks for sharing.

     
  3. carriegelson

    May 9, 2015 at 5:52 pm

    Fantastic Earl! Thank you for sharing this in your post today. Happy and uplifting! Love the generosity that happens when people know it’s such a great reason.

     
  4. cvarsalona

    May 10, 2015 at 4:54 am

    Earl, I agree with Crystal. That line not only resonates with me but has a poetic quality to it that should be expanded into a thought image or poem. The video from the perspective of some policemen is powerful.

     
  5. Tara Smith

    May 10, 2015 at 9:46 am

    You are doing important work, Earl – thank you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
