RSS

National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature: Part 4

21 May

“The National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature raises national awareness of the importance of young people’s literature as it relates to lifelong literacy, education and the development and betterment of the lives of young people.”
-from the website

National_Ambassador_for_Young_People's_Literature_-_logo

I didn’t know there was even this position until a year or so ago. I think it’s great. I wanted to know more about the authors selected as Ambassadors and their respective platforms so I created a Reading Challenge to read at least one of their books.

I’ve talked about Jon Scieszka, Kate DiCamillo and Walter Dean Myers before. Last but not least is Katherine Paterson!

Her career and legacy is a pretty impressive one even from what little I’ve read. The theme for her tenure was “Read for Your Life.”

I decided to read one of her two Newbery winning books to complete my reading challenge!

Bridge to TerabithiaBridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I knew this was going to be a tearjerker but I had forgotten how so. I thought I was going to be prepared for it but no. It got to me.

Two outcasts form an unlikely friendship. Jess likes to run and wants to be the fastest kid in fifth grade. Leslie is the new girl whose hair is too short and her clothes too different to fit in. She ends up showing him a secret place called Terabithia where they are king and queen.

But real life finds a way in to their imaginary kingdom and nothing will ever be the same again.

View all my reviews

 

Leave a Reply

 
