RSS

Celebrate This Week- May 22, 2015: Part 1

22 May
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating my recent trips to Las Vegas and San Francisco.

Las Vegas

Mariah Carey #1 to Infinity

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I usually go to Las Vegas once a year to see my family but this trip was going to be extra special because I was going to see Mariah Carey in concert. And it almost didn’t happen. One hour before the Wednesday show was supposed to start, staff told us that it was cancelled because Mariah Carey had bronchitis!

I was surprisingly cool about it. Maybe because I had already see her four other times before. My family and friends were particularly sweet/funny/comforting when they found out since they knew how much I was looking forward to seeing her again. After all, I’ve only seen her four other times before.

After a lot of back and forth the next few days, I decided to try my luck and buy another ticket for her Sunday show, hoping she’d be well enough to perform. And I’m glad I did because it was quite a show!

Who else can create a show based entirely on their #1 hits? There were some lip-synching moments but when she sang live, it was heavenly. I loved hearing the songs she hadn’t sung in awhile and admit I got a tad teary eyed a couple of times. And I was so close to the stage! It was a great night!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.



Bookstores and Libraries

I’m always thrilled when I get to visit bookstores I hadn’t been to before so I was giddy with excitement to have gone to two in Las Vegas! The first was The Writer’s Block– a literary place that sells and print books and holds workshops located in the revitalized downtown. They even have an artificial bird adoption agency and a real-live pet rabbit one can play with!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(On the way there, my friend and I even stumbled upon a Little Free Library in an interesting “classroom and meeting space venue” called the Learning Village.)

The second new bookstore I visited was the unassuming Books or Books located in a strip mall. I was impressed enough with their children’s section that I talked to the staff who was friendly. I couldn’t resist buying some books for the young ones in my family!

Also, my best friend agreed to take me on my annual library hop for a special out-of-state edition. We hit up the three Henderson district libraries. They used to have more locations (including one in a mall) but the recession and a failed ballot initiative to raise funding forced them to close a couple and reduce hours. So, it was great to see the libraries that we visited were being used! And there was Friends of the Library sale going on that day!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Family & Friends

With family and friends, we did touristy things like walk the Strip, watch Excalibur’s Tournament of Kings, and play Bingo, just to name a few. And, we ate! I’m still stuffed from all the eating I’ve done!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m always “overwhelmed with gratitude” after spending time with the people I love. I really hit the jackpot with my Vegas trip!

Edited: Since this post is rather long, I’ve decided to split it into two. Read about my San Francisco trip here. My Audio/Video Pick of the Week will be there as well!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

3 responses to “Celebrate This Week- May 22, 2015: Part 1

  1. Linda Baie

    May 23, 2015 at 7:47 am

    Wow-this Las Vegas trip sounds like so many good times, Earl. Glad you had the concert, visited those wonderful bookstores, and dropped into libraries, with a sale! Good times!

     
  2. Tara Smith

    May 23, 2015 at 10:51 am

    You really did hit the jackpot, Earl! Fun times…and books, too.

     
  3. carriegelson

    May 23, 2015 at 7:06 pm

    I so enjoyed all of the photos and your excitement conveyed in this post!

     

Leave a Reply

 
