RSS

Celebrate This Week- May 22, 2015: Part 2

23 May
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating my recent trips to Las Vegas and San Francisco.

Read my Las Vegas recap here.

San Francisco

Bookstores & Libraries

It was only last October that I’d gone to San Francisco. My write up of my literary adventures there can be read here.

Even though I was only in San Francisco for a couple of days, I was able to cram in a lot of bookstore and library visits in such a short time!

sf1
Books Inc.– On my way to my grandma’s house, I stopped by their Downtown location.

The next day, I had a half day to explore the Mission District. I hadn’t really been there before. Most likely because I was afraid of its reputation but it was actually nice. I loved the murals and I walked by Mission Dolores. (I can’t for the life of me say anything significant about the latter or any of the other California missions, but I remember we had to learn about them in elementary school.) (I also somehow managed to delete the pictures I took of Mission Dolores.)

sf2
Mission Library– I wasn’t originally going to go here- and I didn’t even know it was near where I was- but I saw the beautiful building with famous writers’ names etched in its exteriors and knew I had to go in. This branch boasts a “large Latino Interest collection of books which highlight the history and culture of Latin America.” Apparently it was “the first branch in the San Francisco Public Library system.”


Dog Eared Books– This was probably the bookstore I was most excited to see. It’s a beautiful space. I loved the exterior art as well.


Aardvark Books– This used bookstore is a great place to browse and find a book that you weren’t planning to get. When I was walking around, there was a lady just playing with the store cat. And when I left the cat was eating the flowers on the counter. Lots of character.

sf7
Books Inc.– I was technically in the Castro district some of my time there and this location featured lots of LGBT books.

sf8
Eureka Valley/Harvey Milk Memorial Branch Library– I ended up stopping by this branch. I loved that it was renamed to honor Harvey Milk. And apparently, the adjacent area was also renamed after another openly gay activist, Jose Sarria.


826 Valencia– A lot of people recommended I check out this non-profit co-founded by Dave Eggers. Mac Barnett and Jory John talked about it at their Children’s Institute presentation. 826 Valencia is “dedicated to supporting under-resourced students ages six to eighteen with their creative and expository writing skills and to helping teachers inspire their students to write.” Because they’re zoned as a retail space, they opened up a Pirate Supply Store as their storefront. I wished I had more time to ask about and look into their non-profit side but there was an event going on.


Borderlands Books– This used and new bookstore specializes in Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Mystery. The adjacent coffee has received as many praises than the store! I liked that there was a writer’s group meeting at the cafe.

sf17
Alley Cat Books– I only realized later on that Dog Eared Books and Alley Cat Books were part of the same company- when I saw the same selected remaindered titles on sale. I liked the gallery in the back where they apparently have workshops and other events.


Adobe Books– Half bookshop, half arts cooperative, Adobe Books somehow managed to make a tiny space work.


John Daly Library– There’s a large Filipino population in Daly City, located just south of San Francisco. I love when a library reflects the community they serve. They had a shelf dedicated to Tagalog books and I even read some translated to English. They did have a kids books in Tagalog that I was tempted to read but I didn’t think I would have had enough time!

Family

I had decided to add on San Francisco to my vacation so I can spend some time with my family. I was super excited to meet my new niece. And, of course, I gave her books!

I’m grateful that everywhere I go, there are people who care about me. Hopefully I somehow show how much I appreciate it.

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is Dustin Lance Black testifying for Harvey Milk Day a few years ago.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

One response to “Celebrate This Week- May 22, 2015: Part 2

  1. crbrunelle

    May 23, 2015 at 8:15 pm

    Thank you for sharing your bookish travels. I have been to San Francisco many times, but I haven’t ever visited the Mission District. After reading the picture books Barrio: Jose’s Neighborhood and A Movie in My Pillow, I want to see those murals too. I’m glad you enjoyed it and I will put that in my plans the next time I get to visit. Thank you also for the very moving and powerful video.

     

Leave a Reply

 
