RSS

What Are You Reading? (147) #IMWAYR – May 24, 2015

24 May
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

These past two weeks (since I’ve been on vacation), I posted:

Reading Challenge: Beverly Cleary– Read my reviews for:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my review for:

Draw What You See: The Life and Art of Benny Andrews by Kathleen Benson Haskins, Illustrated by Benny Andrews

Draw What You See: The Life and Art of Benny Andrews by Kathleen Benson Haskins, Illustrated by Benny Andrews

Celebrate This Week– Last week I celebrated Brian Selznick’s Arbuthnot Honor Lecture.

National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature: Part 4- Katherine Paterson. Read my review for:

Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

-Celebrate This Week- This week I’m celebrating my recent trips to Las Vegas and San Francisco. Read part one and part two.

Ballet Cat: The Totally Secret Secret by Bob Shea

Ballet Cat: The Totally Secret Secret by Bob Shea


[***] Fans of Elephant and Piggie can do themselves a favor and pick this book up because they will love it!

Where Are My Books? by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

Where Are My Books? by Debbie Ridpath Ohi


[**] A boy’s books are disappearing. And, the culprit is a rather surprising critter.

Abadeha: The Philippine Cinderella by Myrna J. De La Paz, Illustrated by Youshan Tang

Abadeha: The Philippine Cinderella by Myrna J. De La Paz, Illustrated by Youshan Tang


[***] I hadn’t even known about this book until I discovered it on a shelf in Daly City library where they serve a large Filipino demographic. It was interesting to see all the differences from the more familiar fairy tale. Instead of the fairy godmother, there’s the Spirit of the Forest. Instead of the Prince finding her shoe after a ball, he finds a ring in her magical garden (unbeknownst to him) and she must find him to save him. This makes me want to read other countries’ Cinderella stories!

Dory and the Real True FriendDory and the Real True Friend by Abby Hanlon
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Imaginative Dory is back and so are all her friends. To her family’s dismay, all of them have been make-believe so her siblings are suspicious of her new-found BFF. The charm of the first book is here aplenty but the story I found a bit lacking. Still, a worthy follow-up that readers will enjoy.

View all my reviews
Publishes July 7th.

NogginNoggin by John Corey Whaley
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A teenage boy’s head is removed from his cancer ridden body, cryogenically frozen for five years, and put on another teenage boy’s body (who had died of brain cancer). With a new lease on life, still-sixteen-year-old Travis Coates must navigate a world with his now-adult friends and continue to suffer through high school.

With all the topics to possibly be tackled, I was disappointed there was so much focus on him trying to get his then-girlfriend back. An enjoyable read nonetheless.

View all my reviews

Expect a review for this book during Wednesday’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:

The Harvey Milk Story by Kari Krakow

The Harvey Milk Story by Kari Krakow

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Have a great reading week!

Advertisements
 

7 responses to “What Are You Reading? (147) #IMWAYR – May 24, 2015

  1. Michele

    May 25, 2015 at 7:13 am

    I was so glad to come across Ballet Cat – I think this series is going to give Mo Willems some competition!
    I can’t wait to read the new Dory book. I enjoyed the first one.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    May 25, 2015 at 8:04 am

    Thanks for the Abadeha Cinderella book review, Earl. I have a niece who is from the Philippines, will love this!

     
  3. Crystal

    May 25, 2015 at 11:00 am

    Yes, thanks for the Abadeha Cinderella book review. I am always on the lookout for folk and fairytales. I didn’t realize there was a picture book bio about Harvey Milk. I look forward to reading your review.

     
  4. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    May 25, 2015 at 12:24 pm

    I really loved Noggin because I felt that despite the ridiculous premise, it was a universally relatable story. Just about everyone knows what it’s like to have people in their lives move on and leave them behind.

     
  5. cheriee

    May 25, 2015 at 4:10 pm

    Holy crow Earl, You have read many of my favourite books this week! Dear Mr Henshaw is probably one of my favourite Beverly Cleary books. And then Bridge to Terabithia is, I agree, a tearjerker. Imagine me reading it out loud to a class with tears streaming down my cheeks (and many of my students) I read Noggin a while ago. I agree that his obsession with his girl friend was irritating, but I didn’t think it was that unrealistic. Here is my review of it. http://dickenslibrary.blogspot.ca/2015/01/noggin-by-john-corey-whaley.html
    I’m also looking forward to finding the new Dory book and Ballet Cat.

     
  6. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    May 25, 2015 at 6:07 pm

    I love Beverly Cleary! So glad you highlighted her. Bridge to Terabithia and Kate DiCamillo are also a favorite, so it is nice to see her being celebrated as well.
    Like Beth said, I was intrigued by Noggin. Although it seemed so strange, it was actually pretty relatable for all.
    Glad you liked Ballet Cat! It was so much fun 🙂

    Happy reading this week!

     
  7. Ricki Ginsberg

    May 25, 2015 at 6:31 pm

    Wow! Taking it back with Beverly Cleary! I love how you go on these kicks with old series. It makes my blog reading so enjoyable. I am interested to see where you go next!

     

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: