RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #72

27 May

nfpb2015

I skipped last week since I was on vacation. The last three titles this week are new releases.

The Harvey Milk StoryThe Harvey Milk Story by Kari Krakow
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I read this picture book on Harvey Milk Day- May 22nd. This was a great introduction to an inspirational man who overcame his fear to be who he was to fight for equality not just for the LGBT community but for everyone.

View all my reviews

Water Is Water: A Book About the Water CycleWater Is Water: A Book About the Water Cycle by Miranda Paul
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Even after all the nonfiction picture books I’ve read over the years, especially with this reading challenge, I’m still surprised when I find one that I think will also be great as a read aloud. This one- with its fluid (pun intended) and beautiful illustrations by Jason Chin- will be great for storytime and has plenty of learning moments about the different states of water and its cycle.

View all my reviews

Edible NumbersEdible Numbers by Jennifer Vogel Bass
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

A follow up to last year’s Edible Colors, this one fell a bit short. I did like the two-page spread in the end where readers can count the different kinds of fruits and vegetables they see.

View all my reviews

Available in paperback:
RedwoodsRedwoods by Jason Chin
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Jason Chin has been recommended to me by a lot of our customers so I’ve been meaning to read his books and finally got around to it. And I am thrilled to have found such a great “new” writer/illustrator.

Gravity was my introduction to Jason Chin. His latest is also his shortest- and illustratively his weakest as well- but doesn’t diminish how enjoyable and informative it was.

Coral Reefs was a wonder of a book. I loved the fantasy element mixed in with all the fascinating facts!

Redwoods is another creative non-fiction type of picture book.

His storytelling style reminds me a bit of David Weisner’s.

I will definitely be recommending Jason Chin to others!

View all my reviews

 

One response to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #72

  1. Holly Mueller

    May 27, 2015 at 5:28 pm

    I read Gravity and Island: A Story of the Galapagos and enjoyed them both, but I’ll put other Jason Chin books on my list now!

     

Leave a Reply

 
