RSS

Celebrate This Week- May 29, 2015

29 May
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating Harvey Milk.

But, first of all, it may seem that I’ve been writing a lot about gay issues and I don’t mean to. I don’t want to come off as pushing my beliefs on others or that it’s all I talk about. At the same time, it’s such a huge part of my life and I’m learning so much and inspiring me to be OK with who I am. I don’t even know why I felt I need to write this pseudo-apology considering Readers are open-minded and understand the need for diversity.

Surprisingly enough, I didn’t even know anything about Harvey Milk until recently. It’s probably because history hasn’t ever been my strong suit. Yet history has a way of repeating itself if we don’t learn from past mistakes. It was during my LGBT Book Drive that his name would keep coming up.

During my trip to San Francisco, I visited a library that was renamed in his honor.
sf8

I was even able to find a copy of his biography to donate to my Book Drive in one of the many bookstores I visited there.
milk1

And, it was Harvey Milk Day last week- celebrated on his birthday, May 22nd. I was able to read a wonderful nonfiction picture book biography of his life.
The Harvey Milk StoryThe Harvey Milk Story by Kari Krakow
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I read this picture book on Harvey Milk Day- May 22nd. This was a great introduction to an inspirational man who overcame his fear to be who he was to fight for equality not just for the LGBT community but for everyone.

View all my reviews

I also ended up watching two great films about him. One was Gus Van Sant’s 2008 film, Milk. Powerful and moving, this was an amazing production. The second was the Oscar-winning documentary The Times of Harvey Milk, which is an absolute must-watch. It’s such an important account of not just Harvey Milk, who fought for gay and civil rights, but everyone who stood by him and supported equality and fairness in the lives of everyone.

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is this text-video excerpt of his “Hope” speech.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

2 responses to “Celebrate This Week- May 29, 2015

  1. cvarsalona

    May 29, 2015 at 10:22 pm

    Earl, the video you presented is powerful. Thank you for sharing. Hope is a strong emotion!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    May 30, 2015 at 1:06 pm

    I’ve seen most of these about Harvey Milk except that documentary, & will look for it, Earl. The last video is beautiful, isn’t it? Thank you for all you shared! Our school just had a session for our older students (6th, 7th & 8th) with a group here in Denver named Rainbow Alley, a place for kids who want to be safe, to hang out with friends, some of which might be searching for a way to share who they are. The people who came to talk with the students were wonderfully supportive. Our hope is that some of our students will go and visit, and will find it a safe place.

     

Leave a Reply

 
