RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #73

03 Jun

nfpb2015

We Dig Worms!: TOON Level 1We Dig Worms!: TOON Level 1 by Kevin McCloskey
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A beginning graphic novel that provides an entertaining and informative look into the lives of worms and what they do and how they help the earth. I enjoyed reading the backstory of this book- he wrote it in response to his librarian wife’s request for a fun nonfiction picture book for young readers- and that he did the artwork on recycled grocery store sacks.

View all my reviews

Daylight Starlight WildlifeDaylight Starlight Wildlife by Wendell Minor
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Readers are introduced to the habits of some diurnal, nocturnal, and crepuscular animals in this beautiful picture book. The lush illustrations reminded me of Kadir Nelson. Includes two pages of fun facts at the end.

View all my reviews

Lost in NYC: A Subway Adventure: A TOON GraphicLost in NYC: A Subway Adventure: A TOON Graphic by Nadja Spiegelman
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This graphic novel tells the story of a new boy out on a school field trip to the Empire State Building who gets separated from the class. Will he learn to navigate the seemingly complex subway system of New York City? Peppered throughout are information about the subway system and the world famous building including some more facts at the end of the book. It’s not straight forward nonfiction but it’s more like the Magic School Bus! I love that the illustrator hid himself and another character in most of the pages and readers will probably go back and search for them and follow them on their own adventure!

View all my reviews

 

One response to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #73

  1. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    June 3, 2015 at 7:54 pm

    I so want to read Lost in NYC! I think my “graphic novel gang” at school would really love it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
