RSS

Celebrate This Week- June 5, 2015

05 Jun
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating selfies, tweets, and Summer Reading!

Fun Times with Friends

I take an unhealthy amount of selfies so I’ve proclaimed myself as the Earl of Selfies. Here are some I took recently with friends.

During one of the ever increasing Bingo Nights!

During one of the ever increasing Bingo Nights!

Watched a surprisingly good and absolutely fun parody musical of Buffy the Vampire Slayer!

Watched a surprisingly good and absolutely fun parody musical of Buffy the Vampire Slayer!

My original library hopping co-conspirator!

My original library hopping co-conspirator!

Finally went to Waffle Window! It was a very bright afternoon.

Finally went to Waffle Window! It was a very bright afternoon.

Bookstore Love

Recently, there seemed to be a streak of days where my days have been made significantly better because of the people who come to Green Bean Books, the children’s bookstore where I work. Here are some recent tweets where I’m practically gushing about them!

I so love when people recognize me from the bookstore and they know my name. It always feels like we’re in a secret society of readers.

When my favorite customers come to the store it’s like a summertime party with ice cream. Not literally of course. But it feels that way.

Not to sound like a broken record but we have the best customers. It feels so good to feel appreciated for something I love doing!

You can read my extended bio for work here.

Giveaway

Shelf Awareness which is a great resource for readers, is celebrating their 10th anniversary by giving away 10 $100 gift cards to use at your favorite local (preferably independent) bookstore. Enter here.

Audio/Video Pick of the Week

I got the following message on the Facebook page of this blog:

“Hello, Earl! I came across a stanza of Summer Readin’ in a google search. I’ve been hunting for the author…I believe it is you? Well, we took that thread and used it with our students to make this awesome video. I hope you can share it with your library and teacher friends for their students. Happy summer and enjoy the show! Thanks for the fun inspiration. Amy”

How cool is that? And it’s my first time seeing my name on the credits! I feel like Howard Ashman! They did a great job with the video so that’s why it’s my Audio/Video Pick of the Week:

And here’s the comic strip I did a few years ago at my old job with a co-worker that was about Summer Reading:
summerreading

What are you celebrating this week?

 

7 responses to “Celebrate This Week- June 5, 2015

  1. cvarsalona

    June 5, 2015 at 9:22 pm

    What a fun post, Earl. Your lyrics to Summer Readin’ and the comic strip are so cool. I pinned the comic strip to one of my Pinterest Boards. Enjoy Summer Reading. I know I will.

     
  2. Michelle Haseltine

    June 6, 2015 at 8:19 am

    There’s such joy in your words today!! What a FUN video!!! Well done! Happy Celebrating!

     
  3. Ramona

    June 6, 2015 at 8:58 am

    Earl, such excitement here! Summer reading, may I borrow your last one to share in my summer book groups? If I remember correctly, you’re in Portland, OR. Someday I may make it by your bookstore.

     
  4. carriegelson

    June 6, 2015 at 3:24 pm

    Lots of happy here! Happy summer!

     
  5. crbrunelle

    June 8, 2015 at 9:26 pm

    So fun to see what they did with your words. 🙂

     
  6. Amy Weiss

    June 15, 2015 at 9:27 pm

    Our students (and the adults) had an absolute blast making this video! How wonderful to be your audio/video pick. Thank you, Earl!

     

Leave a Reply

 
