RSS

What Are You Reading? (149) #IMWAYR – June 7, 2015

07 Jun
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Reading Resolutions: May Update

New Releases: – Read my reviews for:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Review: Circus Mirandus– It’s one of my 50 most favorite favorites.

Circus Mirandus by Cassie Beasley

Circus Mirandus by Cassie Beasley

Celebrate This Week– This week I’m celebrating selfies, tweets, and Summer Reading! Make sure to check out the fun video I included in that post!

I’ve been reading lots of Advanced Reader Copies (ARCs) lately and I’ll post them closer to their publication dates but you can read super short reviews of them on Twitter or Goodreads.

Stick and Stone by Beth Ferry, Illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld

Stick and Stone by Beth Ferry, Illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld


[***] A cute story about friendship. A sweet message of sticking up for a friend paired with completely adorable illustrations.


[**] I love Barney Saltzberg’s other books but these board books fell flat for me.

Only Fish Fall From the Sky by Leif Parsons

Only Fish Fall From the Sky by Leif Parsons


[***] A highly imaginative tale of a topsy-turvy world where nothing is as they should be. Curious dreamscapes are captured wonderfully in the highly detailed and fun illustrations.

Expect a review for this book during Wednesday’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:

Luna and Me: The Story of Julia Butterfly Hill by Jenny Sue Kostecki-Shaw

Luna and Me: The Story of Julia Butterfly Hill
by Jenny Sue Kostecki-Shaw

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Have a great reading week!

 

10 responses to “What Are You Reading? (149) #IMWAYR – June 7, 2015

  1. Kathy Martin

    June 8, 2015 at 5:10 am

    I love Mo Willems and can’t wait to read I Will Take a Nap. I have been hearing so much about Circus Mirandus lately and will have to give that one a closer look. Here is my accounting of last week. Happy reading!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    June 8, 2015 at 5:36 am

    Only Fish Fall From The Sky looks wonderful, Earl. And I will be sure to find & read Circus Mirandus, especially as it’s your favorite of favorites! Have a great week!

     
  3. Cheriee Weichel

    June 8, 2015 at 7:08 am

    I’ve got to get hold of Circus Mirandus. Our copy of And Tango Makes Three is falling apart. I think younger children just accept the different family configurations. It’s the parents who get their knickers in a knot.

     
  4. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    June 8, 2015 at 1:20 pm

    I really enjoyed your review of Circus Mirandus. I initially thought I didn’t want to read this one (when it was compared the The Night Circus, that actually turned me off since I didn’t really connect with that book) but after hearing Donalyn Miller talk about it, and also after reading your review, I know I need to read this one soon!

     
  5. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    June 8, 2015 at 6:04 pm

    Thank you for telling me about the new release picture books! I knew about Momo and E&P, but didn’t know about the others (and I am definitely getting the Tango board book!).
    Circus Mirandus is in my physical eventually TBR pile, so I hope I can get to it this summer. If it is a favorite favorite, I definitely need to get to it.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  6. carriegelson

    June 8, 2015 at 7:59 pm

    Only Fish Fall from the Sky has such a gorgeous cover. I am very much intrigued.

     
  7. crbrunelle

    June 8, 2015 at 9:21 pm

    I have been excited about Circus Mirandus since January when Jen Vincent was reading the ARC. She kept reading quotes of it. Sounds great.

     
  8. The Styling Librarian

    June 9, 2015 at 12:36 am

    Oh I can’t wait to read Circus Mirandus… 🙂 Oh boy Stick and Stone! Looking forward to reading that one as well… Happy reading week to you!

     
  9. Ricki Ginsberg

    June 9, 2015 at 8:48 am

    Circus Mirandus is getting so much praise! I am going to have to read it very soon. I’ve got it on the top of my stack!

     
  10. Myra GB

    June 12, 2015 at 8:15 am

    Loved your review of Circus Mirandus! Will definitely purchase a copy of the book. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
