RSS

Celebrate This Week- June 12, 2015

12 Jun
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating Friends of the Libraries.

My term with the Friends of the Multnomah County Library ends this month and I had one of my last events as a board member recently. I wanted to look back at some of my experiences with them.

“I remember being a page for the Las Vegas- Clark County Library District and the awesome, friendly, and dedicated staff and volunteers who ran our branch’s Friends of the Library store. It was their kindness that made me seek out Friends of the Multnomah County Library when I moved to Portland.”

“I figured that while I was still terminally unemployed, it would be a good time to check out what volunteering opportunities there were out in the world. I checked out the Friends’ Library Store.

Friends of the Multnomah County Library is a non-profit organization run by volunteers that helps support the library system with its sales of not only donated materials like books, CD’s and DVD’s but also of greeting card, postcards, bookmarks, book ends, literary gifts, shirts, hats, posters, drinks and snacks. For such a small space, I was surprised they could fit all that in.

I just finished my first day there even though I was practically doing everything I would have done working in a bookstore- but without getting paid. The highlight was definitely interacting with the customers. There was a nice lady, who was not only a reader but a booklover as well, and we talked about some good books we’ve read and even recommended some titles to each other.”

“I’m still co-chairing the Membership, Communications and Marketing Committee for the Friends of the Multnomah County Library. It’s definitely been time consuming but rewarding at the same time. I learned valuable new skills having had to write press releases, to promote big events- including our biggest fundraiser, the Fall Book Sale- and outreach programs, and to work on our bimonthly newsletter. The Friends are a great group of people though, very passionate and dedicated book and library lovers!”

“We currently held our Fall Used Book Sale and there’s just something about a roomful of readers that makes things exciting, exhilarating and electric. Despite the rain, we had dedicated people line up to get in before we opened doors each day of the sale. Some of them have been going for over a decade and it’s something they look forward to.”

Every time I visit a library, I like seeing if they have a Friends. I encourage every one to do the same and see what theirs do to help their library an integral part of the community!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You always hope that your insignificant presence somehow makes a slight difference in the places you’ve been and the lives of the people you meet. Thanks to the Friends of the Multnomah County Library for making me feel appreciated. Their hard work and dedication inspires me to be better and nicer in my life.

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is Mariah Carey’s first single and her first #1, Vision of Love. Twenty-five years ago, her self-titled debut album dropped and all was right with the world!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

2 responses to “Celebrate This Week- June 12, 2015

  1. Linda Baie

    June 13, 2015 at 12:38 pm

    I just went to the Denver Library’s big book sale this past Thursday Earl, & one of the women urged me to join them now that I’m retired. You’ve made me want to check it out even more. Readers just have to be nice people to work with, don’t they?

     
  2. crbrunelle

    June 14, 2015 at 8:47 pm

    Friends groups do so much to support the library and the readers in a community. It’s wonderful that you’ve been part of that in your community.

     

Leave a Reply

 
