RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #75

17 Jun

nfpb2015

Under a Pig Tree: A History of the Noble Fruit (A Mixed-Up Book)Under a Pig Tree: A History of the Noble Fruit by Margie Palatini
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’d been curious about this book since it first came out.

I debated whether to include this as part of my Nonfiction Picture Books but I’m doing it.

A typo leads to a miscommunication between the author and her editor. What’s supposed to be a well-researched book about figs becomes a hilariously illustrated book full of pigs with commentaries between the two parties!

This would probably work best for mid-elementary kids but younger readers will enjoy the cute pictures and the silliness of the text. Fig facts. Pig fun. A good introduction to publication as well. Includes recipes (for figs.)

View all my reviews

Billy's BoogerBilly’s Booger by Moonbot
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This creative nonfiction is a sort of memoir during William Joyce’s time in school when his grades were low but his imagination through the roof and into outer space. A writing contest allows him to channel his skills and he comes out with Billy’s Booger, about a very unlikely superhero. The book is included inside the book.

A fun look into an artist’s life with great illustrations (as usual.) A great lesson in not giving up as well.

View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #75

  1. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    June 17, 2015 at 6:40 pm

    Both of these look so unique, and I could definitely see either of them being used in the classroom. And I’m intrigued by them both myself ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  2. Holly Mueller

    June 18, 2015 at 9:10 am

    That first one looks hilarious – what a cute premise. Kids will love the title of the second one. ๐Ÿ˜‰

     
  3. Myra GB

    June 23, 2015 at 11:32 pm

    Billy’s Booger sounds like a fascinating read. I would have to look for this one – as you know I have a special fondness for pbbs.

     

Leave a Reply

 
