RSS

Celebrate This Week- June 19, 2015

19 Jun
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating kindness.

Yesterday, I wrote about R.J. Palacio’s Wonder and its accompanying books. And it’s hard not to think and talk about kindness after reading any of her words.

This past month has been rather stressful, having to find a new place to move in such a short period of time coming off an almost two-week (and somewhat pricey) vacation.

I’m grateful to have friends who immediately offered to help me. Not to sound sappy or like Oprah but I do feel like angels watch over me not just from above but here with me making my life so much better than I can ever imagine.

(As an update, I do have a new place lined up so that’s one less thing to worry about.)

And I may have shared on here or on Facebook or on Twitter how much I appreciate the customers who come to the bookstore. They are nice and well-read and when they share with us how our book recommendations were spot on or how they love the store and bring their family and friends over, I just want to just have a party and invite them all over to celebrate their awesomeness.

Authors who support their local independent bookstores are incredible people and luckily I get to interact with some of them. Jennifer Coughlin, a Portland author, who wrote The Great Impersonator, is always fun to talk to when she and her son stop by.

The Great Impersonator by Jennifer Coughlin, Illustrated by Catherin Lazar Odell [***]-  I enjoyed this picture book about a boy who likes to imitate other creatures. Great read-aloud and opportunity for kids to mimic the sounds they hear and let their imaginations run wild. The illustrations are wonderful.

The Great Impersonator by Jennifer Coughlin, Illustrated by Catherin Lazar Odell [***]- I enjoyed this picture book about a boy who likes to imitate other creatures. Great read-aloud and opportunity for kids to mimic the sounds they hear and let their imaginations run wild. The illustrations are wonderful.

Jennifer K. Mann did a recent event with us for her recent picture book I Will Never Get a Star on Mrs. Benson’s Blackboard. I’m always impressed by the support authors and illustrators have for their colleagues.

iwill
Shelby Bach, another Portland author who’s final book in her Ever Afters series, Of Enemies and Endings, comes out June 30th, surprised my boss and me by including us in the acknowledgements!

I’m not saying a book is somehow better if my name is included in it… actually I am. Just kidding. But I would highly recommend you visit Shelby’s website and read her books.

Of Giants and IceOf Giants and Ice by Shelby Bach
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I admit I originally had no plans of reading this book when it first came out because I felt “fairy-taled” out but it’s amazing when you’re a local author who shops at your local independent bookstore and the booksellers discover you’ve written some books that fits well with their customer base and you’re nice to them that they end up wanting to promote your book! That’s how I came about to reading this book and I’m so glad I did and that we picked it for our Family Book Club.

Mixing real-life situations (Rory’s parents are divorced and she and mom move around a lot) and fantasy elements (Rory ends up attending a school where they train the students to become characters in fairy tales), populating it with familiar and diverse characters, readers are bound to find something to relate to and enjoy in this first book of the Ever Afters series. Plus, there’s plenty of adventure and a mysterious Destiny to want find out what happens next.

View all my reviews

I attended the Portland launch of a new book, State of Giving: Stories of Oregon Nonprofits, Donors, and Volunteers by Greg Chaillé and Kristin Anderson, whose topic interested me greatly. The authors were there and led a panel with some Portland non-profits. I left the evening feeling inspired. Life is so much better when there’s time dedicated to helping others, of being a service to someone.

GivingCovComps4.indd

The event was held at the Oregon Public House, the first non-profit pub of its kind! It was the perfect venue

I also dropped off the books for the LGBT Book Drive I was holding. You can read about it here.

I can go on but I realized this post is getting quite long. I hope you’ll take time to reflect and share your experiences with kindness.

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is Jon Stewart’s monologue in regards to the devastating shooting that took place earlier this week in Charleston, South Carolina.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

5 responses to “Celebrate This Week- June 19, 2015

  1. Michelle Haseltine

    June 20, 2015 at 8:44 am

    Thank you for the reminder of kindness!! It hits home, especially in the wake of the tragedy in Charleston this week. That clip from The Daily Show is powerful isn’t it?!?! It’s important to share. Thank you again!

     
  2. Michele

    June 20, 2015 at 9:07 am

    One little thing that stuck with me is how you appreciate your customers. I think that is huge – they are people who come in at any given time and provide an unexpected douse of joy. It’s those unexpected moments that mean more, sometimes.

     
  3. Terje

    June 20, 2015 at 12:29 pm

    You mention your stressful week but create a post that is truly celebrating people around you. This is what celebration is about, finding the good, making it meaningful.

     
  4. Maria

    June 20, 2015 at 4:56 pm

    “Not to sound sappy or like Oprah but I do feel like angels watch over me not just from above but here with me making my life so much better than I can ever imagine.” Me too I totally agree with you!

     
  5. Crystal

    June 21, 2015 at 4:39 pm

    Thank you for including the clip. I hadn’t seen it. Stewart really speaks the truth there.

     

Leave a Reply

 
