RSS

What Are You Reading? (151) #IMWAYR – June 21, 2015

21 Jun
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

The Wonder of Wonder– Read my reviews for:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating kindness. I highly encourage everyone to participate in this weekly reflection. It reminds us there is good and there is love when bad and hateful things happen in the world.

LGBT Book Drive– 17 donors from 4 states. Over $320 raised to buy 47 books to donate!
bro1

Something Extraordinary by Ben Clanton

Something Extraordinary by Ben Clanton


[**] For the life of me, I can’t remember a thing about this picture book and I’d just read it recently. I’m sure it was sweet and cute.

I Yam a Donkey! by Cece Bell

I Yam a Donkey! by Cece Bell


[***] If you’re looking for the next fun read-aloud, this is it! I can’t wait to hear the giggles with this one!

The Night World by Mordicai Gerstein

The Night World by Mordicai Gerstein


[***] There seems to be a string of books not only taking place at night but uses its darkness and shadows as almost another character or component to the story. A nice enough bedtime story.

The Map: A Jackaby Story (Jackaby, #1.5)The Map: A Jackaby Story by William Ritter
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Even though it’s Abigail Rook’s birthday, readers are the ones who get a gift with this novella featuring our intrepid adventure, her boss- the supernaturally gifted Jackaby, a treasure map, goblins, and vegetables. A smart move for fans of this smart, spooky series until the next installment comes out!

View all my reviews

Stonewall: Breaking Out in the Fight for Gay RightsStonewall: Breaking Out in the Fight for Gay Rights by Ann Bausum
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Stonewall, a nonfiction book intended for a teenage audience, is an informative look into an important part not only in gay history but American history as well. It details the corruption and the causes of the infamous riots, noting the key players and events that would spark a revolution. It includes a note from the Author sharing her story why she wrote this. With all the news involving gay rights, it’s an exciting look at how far we’ve come and what’s possible ahead.

The audio book is narrated by Tim Federle, author of Better Nate than Ever.

View all my reviews

With Deborah Hopkinson for our Family Book Club with amazing mother/daughter customers!

With Deborah Hopkinson for our Family Book Club with amazing mother/daughter customers!

(I’ve started to keep an album of Authors I’ve met on this blog’s Facebook page. Click here to see the other pics! And please like that page if you hadn’t already. Thanks!)

One of the great things about our Family Book Club is that authors are sometimes kind enough to join us. Deborah Hopkinson was the most recent author to do so. She was great and provided great insights into her books we normally wouldn’t have known had she not shared those information. I am in awe of how creative she is. She seems to be writing machine!

The Great Trouble: A Mystery of London, the Blue Death, and a Boy Called EelThe Great Trouble: A Mystery of London, the Blue Death, and a Boy Called Eel by Deborah Hopkinson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

As someone who normally wouldn’t pick a historical fiction novel to read in their spare time, I was glad we chose this one for our Family Book Club. Having read Steven Johnson’s The Ghost Map (and falsely remembering liking it more than I actually did), I enjoyed how Deborah Hopkinson wove facts with fiction incorporating actual characters and events with the made-up struggles of a boy named Eel. I liked the section that discussed the scientific method. This book will definitely make a good choice as a classroom read.

View all my reviews

Apples to Oregon: Being the (Slightly) True Narrative of How a Brave Pioneer Father Brought Apples, Peaches, Pears, Plums, Grapes, and Cherries (and Children) Across the Plains by Deborah Hopkinson, Illustrated by Nancy Carpenter

Apples to Oregon: Being the (Slightly) True Narrative of How a Brave Pioneer Father Brought Apples, Peaches, Pears, Plums, Grapes, and Cherries (and Children) Across the Plains by Deborah Hopkinson, Illustrated by Nancy Carpenter


[****] This tall tale is fun, fun, fun! And, as you may or may not know, I love books with long titles. A family travels westward with the dad bringing along his fruit trees. Misadventures follow them but doesn’t deter them- not when they work together and use their gumption.

Knit Your Bit: A World War I Story by Deborah Hopkinson, Illustrated by Steven Guarnaccia

Knit Your Bit: A World War I Story by Deborah Hopkinson, Illustrated by Steven Guarnaccia


[***] Based on actual events, this is a good story to show kids that every little thing they can do to help those in need matters.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Have a great reading week!

 

14 responses to “What Are You Reading? (151) #IMWAYR – June 21, 2015

  1. Kathy Martin

    June 22, 2015 at 5:44 am

    Nice assortment of books! I read The Great Trouble and enjoyed it. I can see it as a classroom read aloud. Come see my YA week here. Happy reading!

     
  2. Andrea Payan (@payanar)

    June 22, 2015 at 6:01 am

    I Yam a Donkey looks like it will be a very fun read aloud! There is such an assortment of books in your post and I haven’t heard of most of the books. I just added many, many books to my TBR list. Have a great reading week!

     
  3. Cheriee Weichel

    June 22, 2015 at 6:57 am

    This is such an exciting post Earl. Other than the reviews of yours I read earlier this week, all of these are new to me. I’m going to start by looking for the first in the Jackaby series.

     
  4. The Styling Librarian

    June 22, 2015 at 7:31 am

    Oh, I adore Deborah Hopkinson’s books… 🙂 I can’t wait to read I Yam a Donkey! 🙂

     
  5. Crystal

    June 22, 2015 at 8:27 am

    I’m a knitter so I’ll have to look for Knit Your Bit. Stonewall is another one I will be seeking out. Thanks for the titles!

     
  6. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    June 22, 2015 at 9:01 am

    I’ve heard so many good things about I YAM A DONKEY. I’m really looking forward to that one!

     
  7. Michele Knott

    June 22, 2015 at 11:25 am

    The 3 picture books you featured are books I have checked out (or waiting for) from the library. I’ve heard great things about Extraordinary so I’m interested in reading it soon!

     
  8. tbmulligan

    June 22, 2015 at 1:56 pm

    Thanks for telling us about I Yam a Donkey. We love Cece Bell and can’t wait to read it.

     
  9. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    June 22, 2015 at 7:27 pm

    Three 4 out of 5 star books?!?! They are definitely going on my TBR–you are a tough critic, so I am sure they are good.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  10. Ricki Ginsberg

    June 22, 2015 at 7:56 pm

    Billy’s Booger? Ah, that title cracks me up. I am glad you are featuring Palacio. 🙂 There are a lot of great books on your list this week!

     
  11. vgpratt

    June 22, 2015 at 8:32 pm

    Hi, Earl! You’ve got a terrific list for this week, and I’m definitely adding a few of your titles to my TBR list. I have to admit that I get a bit squeamish about any book with titles referring to body parts, sounds, etc.– but Billy’s Booger sounds like it might be really great to share with young authors who are doing their own writing. Am I understanding that correctly? I’m thrilled to see I Yam a Donkey– I didn’t know about this CeCe Bell book– definitely one I want, as CeCe is a huge hit with my kids after El Deafo! I’ll also be adding Knit Your Bit. In the coming school year, we have to integrate Social Studies into ELA… and my 5th graders have U.S. History from Reconstruction to the present, so this will be a good addition. Thanks!

    P.S. I finished Far, Far Away. WOW. You can see my review on my blog or at my Goodreads account!

     
    • Earl @ The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer

      June 22, 2015 at 9:45 pm

      Yay, we’re book twins on Far Far Away. I should make a list of the best audio books I’ve listened to because this is definitely on it! Billy’s Booger was harmless, less crude than the Captain Underpants books. It’ll be a good book to show that ideas do come everywhere and sometimes one needs to channel their energy in a way that can serve others or even themselves more productively!

       
  12. Ryan M. Hanna (@rantryan)

    June 23, 2015 at 5:13 am

    I want to read Stonewall very badly. I loved your books this week and Mordicai Gerstein is one of my favorites.

     
  13. Myra GB

    June 23, 2015 at 7:26 pm

    Apples to Oregon looks great. We’re doing a Diversified reading theme next and Stonewall looks like a must-read. Naturally, we don’t have it available here in our public library in Singapore.

     

Leave a Reply

 
