RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #76

24 Jun

nfpb2015

Rachel Carson and Her Book That Changed the WorldRachel Carson and Her Book That Changed the World by Laurie Lawlor
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A good introduction to someone whose influence can be seen and felt to this day but it definitely left me wanting more.

View all my reviews

EmuEmu by Claire Saxby
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

If the gorgeous illustrations doesn’t make you want to browse this book, I don’t know what will. The story of the male emu who guards the eggs and protects and raises the chicks until they’re old enough is complimented with facts throughout the book.

View all my reviews

Mesmerized: How Ben Franklin Solved a Mystery that Baffled All of FranceMesmerized: How Ben Franklin Solved a Mystery that Baffled All of France by Mara Rockliff
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Science has never been as fun as this book with its story of Ben Franklin trying to uncover why people in France have been acting peculiar after meeting a certain Dr. Mesmer. Only the scientific method can reveal the answer. The visual presentation and the illustrations are fun.

View all my reviews

Where Does Kitty Go in the Rain?Where Does Kitty Go in the Rain? by Harriet Ziefert
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was avoiding this book for the longest time since I thought it was going to be a cute-sy book about a cat. (I don’t like animals.) Even though it was, it was also about nature, which I don’t particularly like either. What is rain? Which animals and insects like the rain? These and other questions are answered side by side with the story (told in verse) of a girl looking for her pet cat. Classroom activities are included in the back. I enjoy any book that can mix fun with facts.

View all my reviews

Panda KindergartenPanda Kindergarten by Joanne Ryder
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is a look in what a typical day looks like for sixteen panda cubs at the China Conservation and Research Center for the Giant Panda at the Wolong Nature Preserve. Simple texts with accompanying photographs- and its cute subjects- will make this a fun read. Possible discussions might include endangered and threatened species and what we can do to save them.

View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #76

  1. trkravtin

    June 24, 2015 at 12:26 pm

    EMU really is a stunner of a book. MESMERIZED is an interesting and much lesser known aspect of Benjamin Franklin’s life. Great post, Earl!

     
  2. Michele Knott

    June 24, 2015 at 5:22 pm

    Emu keeps popping up. I’ll have to keep an eye out for it.
    I really liked Mesmerized. I liked how the author wrote about the scientific method without it coming off as dry and boring.

     
  3. Tammy and Clare

    June 24, 2015 at 5:36 pm

    We ordered Mesmerized from the library and can’t wait for it to arrive.

     

Leave a Reply

 
