RSS

Celebrate This Week- June 26, 2015

26 Jun
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating Endings.

This summer is going to be one of Endings and Beginnings for me. As I’ve mentioned before, I will be moving to a new place in about a couple of weeks. And it just happened to coincide with other things I’ve decided to stop doing.

library1

Last Saturday was my last day volunteering at the library where I’d spent most Saturday mornings pulling patrons holds off the shelves and scanning them through. The staff there have been super nice particularly the past few times I’ve been there so I’m going to miss that.

flowers

And, as I’ve also mentioned before, my term as a Friends of the Multnomah County Library board ends this month. During the Annual Meeting where we say goodbye to the outgoing crew and vote in the incoming batch, I got these nice flowers. And people said some nice things during our farewells. I’m going to miss the relationships I’ve created with them.

This past Wednesday, I attended my last event as a board member. For the third year, we had a Books for Beer fundraiser at a local pub (with two locations.) We had a book drive and mini book sale. And, people can get a free drink with a book donation. (Kids had root beer with their donation.) It was so fun talking to other book lovers especially those who had no problem supporting the library by buying books, signing up for a membership, or just ordering food and drinks there (since the pub was donating a portion of that day’s proceeds to us.) It was definitely a great way to end things.

And, with volunteering there that night, I exceeded my 50-hour goal! I’m still going to be volunteering at other places, of course.

balloon

But, to top things off, some of the board members decided to throw me a going away party. There were delicious food and kind words.

Someone wrote, “I do want to thank you for your unwavering support of FOL and for all the hours and work you’ve given to bring FOL into the current century. Streamlining the newsletter, initiating Mailchimp, hosting new events, and changing up how we communicate have been huge for FOL.” And, of course, I had to tell them that it was teamwork. All the successes we had was because we worked together.

It feels nice to have happy endings to pave ways to new beginnings and new adventures.

Found these glasses while packing for my move and listening to Elton John.

Found these glasses while packing for my move and listening to Elton John.

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is my favorite Elton John song.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

4 responses to “Celebrate This Week- June 26, 2015

  1. Linda Baie

    June 27, 2015 at 6:06 am

    Sounds like a great week, Earl. Saying goodbye to good groups is not easy, but it also sounds as if you’re satisfied that the next places will be good, too. You sound like the best volunteer! Now that I’m retired, I hope to find a few places to volunteer, like the library up the street! You’ve inspired me! Have a lovely weekend & love those glasses!

     
    • Linda Baie

      June 27, 2015 at 6:07 am

      PS-I can’t access the song!

       
  2. Jennifer Laffin

    June 27, 2015 at 6:50 am

    Here’s to your week of wonderful celebrations and for the many celebrations to come in your next adventure!

     
  3. Loralee

    June 27, 2015 at 3:37 pm

    How wonderful they threw you a party!

     

Leave a Reply

 
