RSS

What Are You Reading? (152) #IMWAYR – June 28, 2015

28 Jun
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

-Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday- Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating Endings.

If an Elephant Went to School by Ellen Fischer, Illustrated by Laura Wood

If an Elephant Went to School by Ellen Fischer, Illustrated by Laura Wood


[***] I forgot to include this last week. A charming companion to their If An Armadillo Went to a Restaurant this time asking what animals would do in school and answering with some special skill they do.

Once Upon a Cloud by Claire Keane

Once Upon a Cloud by Claire Keane


[***] At first, I was hesitant to read this picture book because the illustrations, while beautiful, seemed too polish. But it is a sweet story of a little girl looking for the present for her mom.

Ninja Bunny by Jennifer Gray Olson

Ninja Bunny by Jennifer Gray Olson


[***] A bunny shares his rules to become a ninja but he reconsiders when he meets a formidable obstacle.

Templeton Gets His Wish by Greg Pizzoli

Templeton Gets His Wish by Greg Pizzoli


[**] Templeton Gets His Wish- Another one of those “Be Careful What You Wish For” plots which I don’t really like since nothing really changes. It’s one thing to be grateful for what you have. It’s another to have to put up with things when you shouldn’t have to.

Squid Kid the Magnificent by Lynne Berry, Illustrated by Luke LaMarca

Squid Kid the Magnificent by Lynne Berry, Illustrated by Luke LaMarca


[**] I felt like this picture book had unnecessary fold-out pages. But it’s a cute sibling story.

To the Sea by Cale Atkinson

To the Sea by Cale Atkinson


[***] I loved the color scheme and cutesy illustrations and had high hopes for the book. I was fine with the message of friendship but the ending could have been better.

Beastly Bones (Jackaby, #2)Beastly Bones by William Ritter
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Quick Twitter Review:

Finished Beastly Bones by @Willothewords! Jackaby is my current fave #yalit series. Smart supernatural fun. Read it!

And so the problem is BB doesn’t come out til Sept so I have to wait even longer for the next book! Such is a reader’s life!

View all my reviews

Book ScavengerBook Scavenger by Jennifer Chambliss Bertman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Literary puzzles. Codes. Lots of book fun. Some of the things I love in a story- and all set in San Francisco. Fans of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library will enjoy this mystery where book scavengers roam the city to uncover hidden tomes. But there’s one book that someone is willing to go to great lengths to get!

I also love that one can go to http://bookscavenger.com/ to hide or seek their own book.

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

Better Than Before: Mastering the Habits of Our Everyday LivesBetter Than Before: Mastering the Habits of Our Everyday Lives by Gretchen Rubin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Better than Before offered a lot of A-ha moments. The fact I find myself agreeing with Gretchen Rubin more often than not is like living vicariously through her. She applies her research to her life and shares her experiences in a conversational manner that’s accessible.

View all my reviews
My Pick of the Week

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “What Are You Reading? (152) #IMWAYR – June 28, 2015

  1. Cheriee Weichel

    June 28, 2015 at 10:03 pm

    Wow Earl, You’ve had a fabulous reading week. I know that 4 stars from you is high praise indeed! I really need to get a copy of Book Scavenger. I’ve got it in an order for our school, and I’ve got it on hold at our public library, but in the words of Mo Willems, waiting is not easy.

     
  2. Gigi McAllister

    June 29, 2015 at 3:12 am

    Wow! these look great! I am especially interested in Emu and Ninja Bunny.

     
  3. Linda Baie

    June 29, 2015 at 7:14 am

    Lots of good looking ones, Earl. I will look for If An Elephant Went to School, am unfamiliar with it, & with the earlier one. I was out of town this week, so missed your n-f post. I loved Emu, too, and just found the Rachel Carson one at my library sale. Thanks for all!

     
  4. The Styling Librarian

    June 29, 2015 at 7:42 am

    Good to know what you thought of To The Sea (LOVED THAT BOOK TRAILER!!) and Templeton- hilarious trailer as well… Hmm. Happy reading to you! 🙂

     
  5. msyingling

    June 29, 2015 at 7:56 am

    I really loved Book Scavenger and can’t wait to see what the author will come up with next. Liked the cover, too. You’re the second person today to recommend Jackaby, so I’ll have to look into that one!

     
  6. The Logonauts (@thelogonauts)

    June 29, 2015 at 2:31 pm

    You have me curious now about those Book Scavengers! I actually just got off the waitlist for Better than Before today, so I am looking forward to sitting down with it. I enjoyed Gretchen’s first two books immensely.

     
  7. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    June 29, 2015 at 8:45 pm

    Book Scavengeres looks a bit like Mr. Lemoncello’s Library–have you read it?

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  8. Myra GB

    July 3, 2015 at 12:07 am

    Lots of new to me picture books here. But what I am especially interested in are the YA/MG novels! Awesome to hear about Book Scavenger. And wow Jackaby and Beastly Bones – very very interesting. Glad to see you are happy with your reads this week. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
