RSS

What Are You Reading? (153) #IMWAYR – July 5, 2015

05 Jul
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating pride.

Lloyd Llama by Sarah Jones

Lloyd Llama by Sarah Jones


[***] There’s lot of literary fun in this alliterative adventure of a picture book when two couldn’t-be-more-different-from-one-another creatures realize they have things in common after all.

Vanilla Ice Cream by Bob Graham

Vanilla Ice Cream by Bob Graham


[**] A sublime story of how an adventure seeking sparrow helps create a new experience for a young girl halfway around the world.

A Wonderful Year by Nick Bruel

A Wonderful Year by Nick Bruel


[***] At first I wasn’t going to read this because I wasn’t a fan of the illustrations. And I was quite unsure of what to expect even after the first two stories (each of the four stories is a different season) but I loved how silly and crazy and odd it was. I also enjoyed the full circle-ness of it.

Lost in the SunLost in the Sun by Lisa Graff
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I wasn’t ever going to read this book at all despite my boss’s high recommendation of it and despite me liking Absolutely Almost because I’m always wary of kid’s books that has death as the catalyst of a character’s story. It always sounds like a manipulative emotional ploy.

Here, we have Trent who accidentally causes the death of another kid during a game of hockey. Traumatized by the experience he lashes out at the world around him. But a chance encounter with the town’s oddball- a girl with a mysterious scar on her face- leads into an unlikely friendship full of movies, bad jokes, and lessons in forgiveness and empathy.

At first, I was frustrated by Trent’s selfishness and cluelessness but I was also able to understand where he was coming from. Aside from being a great read, I would recommend this to teachers who’ve ever had a problem student- not as a guide to how to treat them but just to remind them how they (can) change lives everyday.

View all my reviews

We Are All Made of MoleculesWe Are All Made of Molecules by Susin Nielsen
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m calling this a Must Read YA of 2015.

I wonder if there’s something about teen novels with two perspectives that make me like them more. Like All the Bright Places, Eleanor & Park, and I’ll Give You the Sun, just to name a few, We Are All Made of Molecules alternates between point of views. Stewart is a gifted yet socially awkward boy whose mother had died of cancer. Ashley is a popular mean-girl aware yet unaware of her reputation whose dad just came out of the closet. They are forced into each other’s lives when their parents decide to move in together.

Memorable characters, beautiful writing, and captivating storylines make this a great read. Someone said fans of Wonder who are ready for a more mature read (subject-wise) will like this. I agree.

I would also pair this with Rebecca Stead’s upcoming Goodbye Stranger. They both touch upon an alarming issue that girls seem to have to worry about now with technology and cell phones. I’ve got to say some parts toward the end made me feel uncomfortable, which in a way is good.

And, to get on a soap box for a moment, as I finished this book I couldn’t help but think the following: Let’s respect girls. Let’s model good behavior for boys to make them respect girls and their privacy. Let’s respect one another and be examples of good behavior.

To quote a quote by Einstein shared in the book: “The world is a dangerous place to live,not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don’t do anything about it.”

View all my reviews

Fun Home: A Family TragicomicFun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

An unflinchingly honest look about a girl growing up, her relationship with her father who she finds out is gay after his death, and her own sexuality. Taking place in a funeral home and with a background of books, it offers an insightful look into the complicated intricacies of families.

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “What Are You Reading? (153) #IMWAYR – July 5, 2015

  1. Maree

    July 6, 2015 at 1:56 am

    Some interesting looking reads there! I love the look of the Llama book. Happy reading!

     
  2. The Styling Librarian

    July 6, 2015 at 2:29 am

    Lost in the Sun was a tough read… but beautiful, touching… Lloyd Llama sounds great… can’t wait.

     
  3. msyingling

    July 6, 2015 at 5:29 am

    I was fully prepared to hate Lost in the Sun AND We Are All Made of Molecules, but ended up liking them both! Now if I could just reconcile myself to Circus Mirandus, which everyne else loves. I liked that Molecules could be read by middle school students- just edgy enough but nit too inappropriate.

     
  4. Kathy Martin

    July 6, 2015 at 5:40 am

    This is the second time today that I am hearing about We Are All Made of Molecules. I really want to read it. Here is my week. Happy reading!

     
  5. Cheriee Weichel

    July 6, 2015 at 6:08 am

    I also enjoyed We Are Made of Molecules. I’ve got Lost in the Sun on my list of books to read. After reading your review here, I want it even more. I love this Kate Riggs series of books about animals. They are perfect for my primary students who are just learning to do research.

     
  6. Linda Baie

    July 6, 2015 at 7:01 am

    You’ve sold me on We Are All Made of Molecules, Earl. It’s a new one for me. I still need to read Lost In The Sun-maybe someday! Thanks for all!

     
  7. Lisa Robles

    July 6, 2015 at 5:53 pm

    We are all made of molecules sounds amazing. Neeed to read it!

    Lisa
    LisaTeachR’sClassroom

     
  8. Myra GB

    July 7, 2015 at 3:46 am

    My book club (the adult one with authors here in Singapore) will be discussing Fun Home this June – should be an exciting discussion – I read it a year ago, I think – such a powerful and you’re right unflinchingly-honest novel. Glad to see that your reads this week brought you much satisfaction! Will now have to look at Lost in the Sun by Lisa Graff and We Are All Made of Molecules. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
