RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #78

08 Jul

nfpb2015

DiegoDiego by Jonah Winter
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A simple text told in both English and Spanish about a painter with a high sense of patriotism that showed in his work.

View all my reviews

Cowboy Charlie: The Story of Charles M. RussellCowboy Charlie: The Story of Charles M. Russell by Jeanette Winter
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’d never heard of this painter before. I loved that he was a cowboy first and foremost and that he used it to capture that way of life as it started to become less necessary.

View all my reviews

The Blue WhaleThe Blue Whale by Jenni Desmond
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

All the raves this book has gotten has been well deserved. It would make a great follow-up read to Julie Fogliano’s If You Want to See a Whale and reminded me of Jason Chin’s Coral Reefs. A boy reads about blue whales and his world is suddenly immersed in facts about this giant water creature. The illustrations are playful. One of those non-fiction picture books that’ll make for a great read-aloud.

View all my reviews

HummingbirdsHummingbirds by Bonnie Bader
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

It was stunning to see such close-ups of these tiny creatures- and the nest with the eggs and the newborn chicks were adorable. But aside from the beautiful photographs, there’s plenty of text and interesting facts for readers to learn about hummingbirds.

View all my reviews

 

6 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #78

  1. trkravtin

    July 8, 2015 at 8:03 am

    There is a whole section of Montana that is considered Charlie Russell country. :->

     
  2. Linda Baie

    July 8, 2015 at 8:35 am

    I will look for the Charlie Russell book, Earl. I have visited museums that featured his work which is wonderful. So glad you enjoyed The Blue Whale, thought it was wonderful. Thanks also for Hummingbirds; they are fascinating!

     
  3. alybee930

    July 8, 2015 at 1:58 pm

    I just read the Blue Whale this week and loved it. I still need to find Hummingbirds. Thanks for sharing all of these titles.

     
  4. Tammy and Clare

    July 8, 2015 at 3:53 pm

    These all sound incredible. We can’t wait to read all of them! Thank you

     
  5. Michele Knott

    July 8, 2015 at 4:16 pm

    Hummingbirds fascinate me. I still cannot find this at the library so I just broke down and ordered it! The Blue Whale just came in for me at the library – looks like I have a good one ahead of me!

     
  6. Myra GB

    July 10, 2015 at 12:29 am

    These titles all look great. Diego looks like a great companion text to Frida. πŸ™‚ The Blue Whale also looks beautiful. πŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
