RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #79

15 Jul

nfpb2015

One of my Reading Challenges this year is to read Jeanette Winter’s nonfiction picture books.

I chose her because she seemed to pick subjects that were fascinating. She also has a very distinctive illustrative style.

MAMA: A True Story, in Which a Baby Hippo Loses His Mama During a Tsunami, But Finds a New Home, and a New MamaMAMA: A True Story, in Which a Baby Hippo Loses His Mama During a Tsunami, But Finds a New Home, and a New Mama by Jeanette Winter
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

A simple but true story of how a baby hippo got separated from his mother during the 2004 tsunami in Asia and wound up befriending a turtle.

View all my reviews

My Name Is Georgia: A Portrait by Jeanette WinterMy Name Is Georgia: A Portrait by Jeanette Winter by Jeanette Winter
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A beautiful retelling of Georgia O’Keeffe’s life, whose paintings I’m sure everyone is familiar with even if they don’t know the artist behind the images.

View all my reviews

The Tale of Pale Male: A True StoryThe Tale of Pale Male: A True Story by Jeanette Winter
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Focusing on a male bird who had built a nest atop an apartment building across Central Park in New York City, this is how he and his mates (over the years) and their chicks have managed to make lives for themselves. When their nest was threatened- and removed- protesters rallied to have it be reinstalled.

View all my reviews

The Watcher: Jane Goodall's Life with the ChimpsThe Watcher: Jane Goodall’s Life with the Chimps by Jeanette Winter
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Jane Goodall’s life in Africa living with and observing chimps is told here. While simplified, it provides enough information of what she did there and the significance of her work. I know I want to read more about her. Pair this with Me… Jane by Patrick McDonnell.

View all my reviews

Wangari's Trees of Peace: A True Story from AfricaWangari’s Trees of Peace: A True Story from Africa by Jeanette Winter
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Reading a picture book bio of someone you’ve already read another one about is always fascinating in terms of what things are covered and what what aren’t. While not as comprehensive as Wangari Maathai: The Woman Who Planted Millions of Trees by Franck Prévot- and the illustrations not as lavish- this is a good introduction to a woman whose passion and determination to save her country from becoming a tree-less place can inspire anyone in the world.

View all my reviews

You can read the other Jeanette Winter books I’ve reviewed on my Goodreads account.

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #79

  1. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    July 15, 2015 at 7:23 pm

    I love Jane Goodall, and I had forgotten about The Watcher. I definitely need to read that one.
    I also am interested in the Hippo story. I remember reading about that in Huffington Post. 🙂

     
  2. Linda Baie

    July 15, 2015 at 8:08 pm

    The Tale of Pale Male looks and sounds wonderful, Earl. I love the simplicity of Jeannette Winter’s books. I liked The Watcher, have not seen the one about the hippo before, Mama, so will look for those for sure. Thanks!

     
  3. Michele Knott

    July 16, 2015 at 7:31 am

    Thanks for spotlighting this author, I don’t think I’ve read her work before!

     

Leave a Reply

 
