RSS

Celebrate This Week- July 17, 2015

17 Jul
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating coming off a busy week at work.

This Wednesday alone was a double-header of events for me.

First I finished up my Junior Booksellers Boot Camp where kids learned the ropes of being a bookseller. The initial session- it was a once a week for three weeks duration- was kind of tough because this was something new I haven’t done before. There were also more kids I can handle at one time!

bookcamp
Amongst the things we did were pick our favorite books and the kids made shelftalkers.

bookcamp2
The second week was better because I created a game- Baffle the Bookseller- where I created situations and they could use what they learned the week before to recommend.

bookcamp3
This last one, the kids worked together to make signs and manned a craft station where people could make ladybug bookmarks. I was really impressed with them and I think they had a good time- as I did- after we knew what to expect!

Then, I was lucky enough to talk to Susan Hill Long about her wonderful middle reader novel Whistle in the Dark. She was intelligent and interesting and probably loves lists as much as I do.

Whistle in the DarkWhistle in the Dark by Susan Hill Long
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I liked Whistle in the Dark more than I thought I would.

Right off the bat, it had three things going against it for me. (1) It’s historical fiction. (2) It involves a dog. (3) The main character’s problems were already plentiful0 having to quit school to work- at a mine, no less!- and having an epileptic sister to take care of.

But, even despite the things, I became captivated with Clem’s plights. How was he going to reconcile his dreams with his realty, his wants with his responsibilities?

It reminded me of other middle reader novels I enjoyed- dashes of Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery and Lost in the Sun by Lisa Graff.

I’ll definitely be recommending this book from now on!

View all my reviews

I actually first heard of her the night she won the Oregon Book Award so it was a thrill she would come to our store. We talked about Harper Lee’s Go Set a Watchman and she presented an interesting way to read it- more with a critical, scholarly eye rather than a casual reader. As someone who loves To Kill a Mockingbird, I’d been debating whether to read this novel and decided against it. We also talked about Tim Federle and his book Tequila Mockingbird (and the drink Go See a Scotchman for this one). With the book recommendations we were sharing throughout our talk, I was just reminded how awesome authors are when they show that they are readers, too, and how they are as much of a fan as we are about others works!

I added one more title to My Most Favorite Favorites: State of Giving by Greg Chaillé and Kristin Anderson.

My Audio/Video Pick of the Week is “Defying Gravity” from the musical, Wicked. I just bought a ticket to watch it again and I am excited!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

3 responses to “Celebrate This Week- July 17, 2015

  1. Linda Baie

    July 18, 2015 at 12:44 pm

    Wow, Earl, it sounds like you had to figure things out about being a teacher, and did it beautifully in your class. What a nice thing the bookstore does to promote How to Be A Bookseller! And thanks for telling about being with Susan Hill Long and her new book. Have a great week!

     
  2. Ramona

    July 18, 2015 at 7:57 pm

    So fun to hear about your How to Be a Bookseller Boot Camp. Looks like you had lots of fun with your group. Whistle in the Dark is a new title for me. Glad you got to speak with the author!

     
  3. Tara Smith

    July 19, 2015 at 5:31 pm

    Love the ideas for your Boot Camp – what fun!

     

Leave a Reply

 
