RSS

What Are You Reading? (155) #IMWAYR – July 19, 2015

19 Jul
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Jeanette Winter edition.

Review: State of Giving– This is one of my most favorite favorites!

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating coming off a busy week at work including Junior Booksellers Boot Camp. Read my review of:
whistle

 Indi Surfs by Chris Gorman

Indi Surfs by Chris Gorman


[**] A story of not giving up with stunning bold illustrations.

The Moon is Going to Addy's House by Ida Pearle

The Moon is Going to Addy’s House by Ida Pearle


[**] Another picture book with beautiful illustrations in which I wish the story was a little bit more captivating.

Rufus the Writer by Elizabeth Bram, Illustrated by Chuck Groenink

Rufus the Writer by Elizabeth Bram, Illustrated by Chuck Groenink


[****] This is my new favorite picture book I’ll be recommending at the store. I love books about writing and writers and Rufus the Writer is definitely one of the better told stories. A boy sets up a story stand in the summer. I enjoyed Rufus’s imagination and creativeness- and you can read the three stories he writes for his friends and his sister- and his generosity in regards to what payments he’ll receive.

Night Animals by Gianna Marino

Night Animals by Gianna Marino


[***] Another new release I’m quite fond of. A group of nocturnal creatures end up on the run from unknown night animals before realizing they have nothing to be afraid of. So much humor in both the text and the illustrations. The skunk and the possum cracked me up. The dustjacket folds out to a poster with facts about the creatures from the story.

R Is for Rocket: An ABC Book by Tad Hills

R Is for Rocket: An ABC Book by Tad Hills


[***] Rocket and friends (including a special cameo by another Tad Hills character) are back in a ABC book. I liked that it’s not your typical “A is for Apple” format.

Instructions by Neil Gaiman, Illustrated by Charles Vess

Instructions by Neil Gaiman, Illustrated by Charles Vess


[**] Charles Vess’ gorgeous distinct illustrations accompany Neil Gaiman’s advice to anyone going off on life’s journey.

The Princess and the Pony by Kate Beaton

The Princess and the Pony by Kate Beaton


[***] Readers will delight in this now-what-you-expect story of an unlikely princess warrior and a farting pony.

The Book of Memory GapsThe Book of Memory Gaps by Cecilia Ruiz
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A quick read of very short stories. Each tale is tinged with sad and dark humor and accompanied with beautiful illustrations. I wish there were more of a cohesiveness to this work, which would have made it more outstanding.

View all my reviews
(This is an adult book.)

The Party (Final Friends, #1)The Party by Christopher Pike
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The first book introduces readers to the characters that they will come to know and love and hate. There will be high school milestones throughout the series since it takes places during one senior year. In this instance, there are football games and student body elections and first dates. And, there will be a party that will end in death for one of them.

Friendships will form and crumble. Love will be found and lost. Lives will be taken and changed for better or for worse. It will leave readers wanting more.

View all my reviews

Eddie Red, Undercover: Mystery in Mayan MexicoEddie Red, Undercover: Mystery in Mayan Mexico by Marcia Wells
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed the first in this series which I’ve been recommending to kids who enjoy a fast paced mystery.

Eddie, his parents, and his best friend arrive in Mexico in what they think will be a normal summer vacation. But soon a valuable artifact is missing and Eddie’s dad is one of the main suspects. It’s up to Eddie and Jonah to solve the mystery. Even with the help of a beautiful native girl, a street gang, and an assortment of ancient gods, they find themselves in over their head. A fun adventure romp for the middle reader crowd!

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “What Are You Reading? (155) #IMWAYR – July 19, 2015

  1. Cheriee Weichel

    July 19, 2015 at 10:34 pm

    Hi Earl, When I saw the cover of The Princess and the Pony, and read your comment, I wanted it without reading anything about it, I realized that I’ve started collecting princess books – especially quirky ones. I’m definitely looking for a copy of Rufus the Writer, since a number of our teachers are focusing on writing next year! Happy Reading this week.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    July 20, 2015 at 6:51 am

    You’ve shared lots of good books this week, Earl. I just reviewed The Night World, & it looks as if it would make a great pairing with Night Animals. Love the look of Rufus the Writer and that Neil Gaiman, Instructions looks beautiful, too. Thanks!

     
  3. Andrea Payan (@payanar)

    July 20, 2015 at 7:31 am

    There are a number of books on your list that I had not heard of before. I will definitely be looking for Rufus the Writer to use in the beginning of the school year when setting up writing workshop. I also enjoyed the first Eddie Red book. I need to read the new one. Have a great reading week!

     
  4. msyingling

    July 20, 2015 at 9:16 am

    The Christopher Pike books in my library all smelled SO bad that they are gone now. Could never get the R.L. Stine fans to read them, and they were 25 year old prebound paperbacks… gack! Do love Eddie Redd, and will have to see what you thought of Whistle in the Dark. Rufus the Writer looks interesting.

     
  5. vgpratt

    July 20, 2015 at 8:28 pm

    Hey, Earl, I think you’ve found a few books that I’m going to want. I’m definitely interested in Rufus the Writer– anything that gives kids examples of other kids being writers is good with me. Night Animals looks and sounds captivating. This is the second time I’ve gotten interested in Eddie Red– I think my kids might really go for that. I want to check out the Gaiman book…. Is it new? It seems like I’ve heard of it before.

    Thanks again for some great recommendations! Have a wonderful week!

     
  6. Ricki Ginsberg

    July 20, 2015 at 8:29 pm

    I am so excited about Rufus the Writer. Your comments lured me in. Thank you for sharing! I will be getting it from the library!

     
  7. Myra GB

    July 22, 2015 at 9:07 am

    The Book of Memory Gaps sounds like my kind of book – glad to hear about Rufus and Night Animals – looks like there are loads of new gorgeous picture books published this year!

     

Leave a Reply

 
